U-M Student-Athletes Recognized at Annual Academic Awards Banquet

March 26, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- At its annual academic awards banquet on Monday (March 26), the University of Michigan athletic department recognized 371 student-athletes with the U-M Athletic Academic Achievement awards for the 2011 winter, spring and fall semesters. The award is given to individuals with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, or two consecutive terms of at least a 3.0 GPA.

Additional individual and team awards were handed out at the banquet, honoring the achievements of student-athletes in academics, competition and community service:

» Ed and Leann Boullion Mott Warrior Award: Senior Dan Madwed (swimming)

» Phyllis Ocker Award: Fifth-year senior Danielle Tauro (cross country) -- Presented by the School of Kinesiology to an outstanding varsity student-athlete who excels academically in their program.

» Rachael Townsend Community Service Award: Rowing, men's swimming and diving -- Awarded annually to the male and female varsity athletic teams that have made the greatest commitment to service in the community.

» Student-Athlete Advisory Council President Award: Senior/junior Erik Braun (men's track and field) -- The current SAAC President is recognized for his/her work in running a smooth, successful organization.

» Student-Athlete Advisory Council Representative of the Year: Junior J.D. Johnson (men's lacrosse) -- One SAAC representative is recognized for his/her work in going above and beyond the call of duty.

» Raeder's Raiders Spirit Award: Senior Michelle McMahon (volleyball) -- Presented annually since 2006 by the Letterwinners M Club to an outstanding player coming off the bench.

» Leaders of Distinction Awards: Senior Meagan Cobb (water polo), senior Kristyne Cole (swimming), senior Zack Novak (basketball), senior Morgan Turner (water polo) -- Awarded to student-athletes who participated in the Michigan Leadership Academy Program and received the best feedback from coaches and teammates in a leadership profile examination.

» Rookie of the Year: Blake Countess (football) and Aline Fobe (field hockey) -- Awarded to freshman student-athletes who demonstrated high academic and athletic achievements.

» Bates/Deskins Award: Junior Rebecca Addison (cross country, track and field) -- Awarded annually by the university to a junior student-athlete who excels in academics as well as athletics, and is an overall well-rounded individual. It is named in honor of Percy Bates, U-M professor of education, and Donald Deskins, U-M professor emeritus of urban geography and sociology.

» Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor: Senior Dan Madwed (swimming) and senior Amanda Chidester (softball) -- Awarded annually at each Big Ten Conference institution to one male and one female student-athlete in the graduating class who has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.