Fifty-Nine Wolverines Named to Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team

March 27, 2013

Photo Roster of Winter 2013 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference office released its winter 2013 Academic All-Big Ten teams on Wednesday (March 27), which includes 59 University of Michigan student-athletes representing seven varsity athletic teams. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Eighteen members of the No. 1-ranked men's swimming and diving team earned Academic All-Big Ten honors, including nine of the 17 student-athletes competing at the NCAA Championships this week (March 28-30). The group is highlighted by junior Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven), a mechanical engineering major who represented the U.S. at the 2012 Olympic Games, where he finished sixth in the 1,500-meter freestyle. Jaeger is a three-time All-American and six-time Big Ten champion. Sophomore Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) earned two All-America honors as a freshman last year on the medley relays, and captured six Big Ten championship titles this year for a career total of seven. Fellow sophomore Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona) is a three-time Big Ten champion. All three will be competing at NCAAs in Indianapolis.

Five of the women's basketball team's top players also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors, including 2013 All-Big Ten second team senior guard Kate Thompson (Plymouth, Minn./Wayzata), a cellular and molecular biology major. It marks her third such award and comes on the heels of her becoming the 24th Wolverine to reach the 1,000-point scoring milestone. All-Big Ten third-team guard Jenny Ryan (Saginaw, Mich./Nouvel Catholic Central) also earned her third academic award from the conference, and was named Capital One Academic All-District first team in both 2012 and 2013.

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons, and the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school.

Michigan's 2013 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team

Men's Basketball
Josh Bartelstein, Sr., sport management, Highland Park, Ill.
Matt Vogrich, Sr., business administration, Lake Forest, Ill.

Women's Basketball
Sam Arnold, Sr., psychology, Medinah, Ill.
Nicole Elmblad, So., College of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, St. Ignace, Mich.
Jenny Ryan, Sr., communication studies, Saginaw, Mich.
Rachel Sheffer, Sr., sociology, Watervliet, Mich.
Kate Thompson, Sr., cellular and molecular biology, Plymouth, Minn.

Men's Gymnastics
Syque Caesar, Gr., communication studies, Port St. Lucie, Fla.
Kevin Fraser, Jr. business administration, Austin, Texas
Matt Freeman, Jr., economics, Canton, Mich.
Taylor Harrower, So., environment, Dublin, Ohio
Dylan James, Jr., movement science, Valencia, Calif.
A.J. Schottstaedt, Jr., cellular and molecular biology/biopsychology, cognition and neuroscience, Petaluma, Calif.
Rohan Sebastian, Sr., movement science, Oklahoma City, Okla.

Women's Gymnastics
Teresa Arthur, Jr., organizational studies, Tulsa, Okla.
Stephanie Colbert, Jr., psychology, Naperville, Ill.
Brittnee Martinez, Sr., general studies, Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sachi Sugiyama, So., art & design, Keller, Texas
Katie Zurales, Sr., movement science, Wheaton, Ill.

Men's Swimming and Diving
Hassaan Abdel Khalik, Sr., movement science, Mississauga, Ontario
Kevin Bain, So., business administration, Northville, Mich.
Kyle Duckitt, Jr., economics, Johannesburg, South Africa
Ryan Feeley, Sr., business administration, Rye, N.Y.
Richard Funk, So., College of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, Edmonton, Alberta
Justin Glanda, So., business administration, Rochester Hills, Mich.
Evan Gregg, Sr., neuroscience, Vienna, Va.
Connor Jaeger, Jr., mechanical engineering, Fair Haven, N.J.
Ryutaro Kamiya, Jr., business administration, Tokyo, Japan
Zach Kelch, Jr., communication studies, Columbus, Ohio
Connor McCarroll, Sr., aerospace engineering, Portland, Ore.
Daniel Miller, So., College of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, Lambertville, Mich.
David Moore, Jr., mechanical engineering, Holland, Mich.
Bruno Ortiz, So., College of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, Tokyo, Japan
Nate Rietberg, Jr., movement science, Jenison, Mich.
James Ross, Jr., mechanical engineering, Richmond, Va.
Sean Ryan, Jr., mechanical engineering, Hixson, Tenn.
John Wojciechowski, Jr., business administration, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Women's Swimming and Diving
Julia Andracki, Sr., psychology, Arlington Heights, Ill.
Val Barthelemy, Sr., naval architecture and marine engineering, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Courtney Beidler, Jr., communication studies, Richboro, Pa.
Adrienne Bicek, Sr., psychology, Downers Grove, Ill.
Emily Boyd, So., neuroscience, Monrovia, Calif.
Erin Cameron, Jr., movement science, Rockwood, Mich.
Angela Chokran, Jr., mathematics, South Elgin, Ill.
Ashley Cohagen, Sr., movement science, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Savannah Hatt, So., College Of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, Livonia, Mich.
Deirdre Jones, Sr., French, Nashville, Tenn.
Claudia Lau, So., business administration, Hong Kong, China
Brianna Maroukis, Jr., movement science, Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sam Pearson, Sr., English, Las Vegas, Nev.
Molly Schaefer, So., informatics, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Alisa Zoltowski, So., College Of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, West Lafayette, Ind.

Connor Brancheau, So., nursing, Fenton, Mich.
John Evashevski, Jr., environment, St. Ignace, Mich.
Chris Heald, Jr., physical education, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Brandon Hill, So., College of Literature, Science and the Arts/Undeclared, Fenton, Mich.
Mike Hillock, Sr., sport management, Massillon, Ohio
Grant Pizzo, Sr., neuroscience, Brighton, Mich.
Collin Zeerip, Jr., sport management, Fremont, Mich.