Sixty Wolverines Named to Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team

March 28, 2012

Photo Roster of Winter 2012 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference office announced the 2012 winter Academic All-Big Ten team on Wednesday (March 28). Sixty University of Michigan student-athletes representing seven varsity teams were named to the academic squad. To be eligible for the distinction, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Highlighting the list of Wolverines were All-America swimmers Connor Jaeger (Fair Have, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) and Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson). A five-time All-American and four-time Big Ten champion in 2012, Madwed was also named this year's Big Ten Swimmer of the Championship. An industrial and operations engineering major, this is Madwed's third Academic All-Big Ten award. A three-time All-American in 2012, Jaeger is a sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering. He finished third in the 1,650-yard freestyle and fifth in the 500-yard freestyle at the 2012 NCAA Championships, and was a two-time Big Ten champion this season. The pair led U-M to the 2012 Big Ten championship title and a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

Senior Zack Novak (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton), who will receive his bachelor's degree in business administration, earned his third Academic All-Big Ten accolade. He was also named to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America third team and the 2012 All-Big Ten honorable mention squad by the media. Novak is also a finalist for the 2012 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, which celebrates seniors who honor a four-year commitment to their university. The award recognizes these student-athletes for great achievement during competition and in their community while staying in school. A third-year team co-captain, Novak led U-M to a share of the Big Ten title and its third NCAA Tournament berth in four years.

Women's basketball is represented on the academic squad by five student-athletes, including a pair of All-Big Ten honorable mentions. Now a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, senior guard Courtney Boylan (Chaska, Minn./Chaska) was also named U-M's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient in addition to earning honorable mention. She is majoring in sports management. A communication studies major, junior guard Jenny Ryan (Saginaw, Mich./Saginaw Nouvel Catholic Central) earned her second spot on the Academic All-Big Ten team. She was named to the 2012 Big Ten All-Defensive Team and was all-conference honorable mention by the media. This season, the Wolverines earned a berth in the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2001.

The Big Ten office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. Established by conference Faculty Representatives, student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have a minimum GPA of 3.7 for the current academic year, excluding summer school.

2012 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team

Josh Bartelstein, Jr., sports management, Highland Park, Ill.
Zack Novak, Sr., business, Chesterton, Ind.
Matt Vogrich, Jr., business, Lake Forest, Ill.

Sam Arnold, Jr., psychology, Medinah, Ill.
Courtney Boylan, Sr., sports management, Chaska, Minn.
Carmen Reynolds, Sr., informatics, Hiiliard, Ohio
Jenny Ryan, Jr., communication studies, Saginaw, Mich.
Kate Thompson, Jr., cellular and molecular biology, Plymouth, Minn.

Syque Caesar, Sr., communications, Port St. Lucie, Fla.
Kevin Fraser, So., cellular and molecular biology, Austin, Texas
Matt Freeman, So., undecided/Literature, Science and the Arts, Canton, Mich.
Dylan James, So., movement science, Valencia, Calif.
Michael Myler, So., undecided/Literature, Science and the Arts, North Orem, Utah
A.J. Schottstaedt, So., cellular and molecular biology, Petaluma, Calif.
Rohan Sebastian, Jr., movement science, Oklahoma City, Okla.

Teresa Arthur, So., organizational studies, Tulsa, Okla.
Stephanie Colbert, So., psychology, Naperville, Ill.
Kristin Nagle, So., movement science, Farmington Hills, Mich.
Katie Zurales, Jr., movement science, Wheaton, Ill.

Kyle Duckitt, So., economics, Johannesburg, South Africa
Chris Ervasti, So., undecided/Literature, Science and the Arts, Madison Heights, Mich.
Ryan Feeley, Jr., business, Rye, N.Y.
Evan Gregg, Jr., neuroscience, Blacksburg, Va.
Connor Jaeger, So., mechanical engineering, Rumson, N.J.
Thomas Jahnke, So., undecided/Literature, Science and the Arts, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Ryutaro Kamiya, So., business, Tokyo, Japan
Zach Kelch, So., communications, Columbus, Ohio
Jan Konarzewski, Sr., informatics, Warsaw, Poland
Dan Madwed, Sr., industrial and operations engineering, Stamford, Conn.
Connor McCarroll, Jr., aerospace engineering, Portland, Ore.
David Moore, So., mechanical engineering, Holland, Mich.
Chris Morrison, Sr., general studies, Fenton, Mich.
Adam Oxner, So., computer science engineering, South Lyon, Mich.
James Ross, So., mechanical engineering, Richmond, Va.
Casey Sreenan, Sr., anthropology, Miami, Fla.
John Wojciechowski, So., economics, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Julia Andracki, Jr., psychology, Arlington Heights, Ill.
Genevieve Aube, So., cellular and molecular biology, LaSarre, Quebec
Valerie Barthelemy, Jr., naval architecture and marine engineering, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Courtney Beidler, So., undecided/Literature, Science and the Arts, Richboro, Pa.
Adrienne Bicek, Jr., psychology, Downers Grove, Ill.
Erin Cameron, So., movement science, Rockwood, Mich.
Angela Chokran, So., mathematics/actuarial mathematics, South Elgin, Ill.
Ashley Cohagen, Jr., movement science, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Kristyne Cole, Sr., physical education, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Megan Craig, Sr., brain, behavior and cognition, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Caitlin Dauw, Sr., brain, behavior and cognition, St. Charles, Ill.
Deirdre Jones, Jr., French/international studies/comparative literature, Nashville, Tenn.
Liz Koselka, Sr., anthropology and Spanish, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Melissa Lang, Jr., neuroscience, Edison, N.J.
Amanda Lohman, Sr., communications, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Brianna Maroukis, So., movement science, Kalamazoo, Mich.
Alexa Mehesan, Sr., movement science, West Des Moines, Iowa
Sam Pearson, Jr., general studies, Las Vegas, Nev.

Chris Heald, So., physical education/teacher's education, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Mike Hillock, Jr., sports management, Massillon, Ohio
Grant Pizzo, Jr., neuroscience, Brighton, Mich.
Kellen Russell, Sr., physical education/teacher's education, High Bridge, N.J.
Brandon Zeerip, Jr., sports management, Fremont, Mich.
Justin Zeerip, Sr., elementary education, Fremont, Mich.

Fifty-Six Wolverines Named to 2011 Fall Academic All-Big Ten Team (Dec. 7, 2011)
U-M Student-Athletes Recognized at Annual Academic Awards Banquet (March 26, 2011)