U-M Student-Athletes Recognized with Academic Awards at Annual Banquet

March 29, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- At its annual academic awards banquet on Monday (March 28), the University of Michigan athletic department recognized 335 student-athletes with the U-M Athletic Academic Achievement awards for the 2010 winter, spring and fall semesters. The award is given to individuals with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, or two consecutive terms of at least a 3.0 GPA.

Sixteen U-M student-athletes further distinguished themselves with a perfect 4.0 GPA during the 2010 calendar year: three women's track and field athletes, two men's track and field athletes, two women's soccer players, two men's swimmers, two field hockey players, two men's gymnasts, one women's golfer, one men's soccer player and one women's basketball player.

Sixteen additional awards were handed out at the banquet, honoring the achievements of student-athletes in the classroom, competition and the community.

» Bates/Deskins Award: Dan Madwed, Men's Swimming -- Awarded annually by the university to a junior student-athlete who excels in academics as well as athletics, and is an overall well-rounded individual. It is named in honor of Percy Bates, U-M professor of education, and Donald Deskins, U-M professor emeritus of urban geography and sociology.

» Phyllis Ocker Award: Kristyne Cole, Women's Swimming -- Presented by the School of Kinesiology to an outstanding varsity student-athlete who excels academically in their program.

» Raeder's Raiders Spirit Award: Shawn Hunwick, Ice Hockey -- Presented annually since 2006 by the Letterwinners M Club to an outstanding player coming off the bench.

» Rachael Townsend Community Service Award: Volleyball (women), Baseball (Men) -- Awarded annually to the varsity athletic teams that have made the greatest commitment to service in the community.

» Student-Athlete Advisory Council: Alex Wood (Men's Soccer), President; Erik Braun (Men's Track and Field), SAAC Representative of the Year -- The current SAAC President and one SAAC representative are recognized for their work in running a smooth, successful organization and going above and beyond the call of duty, respectively.

» Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor: Sarah Curtis, Women's Gymnastics; Carl Hagelin, Ice Hockey -- Awarded annually at each Big Ten Conference institution to one male and one female student-athlete in the graduating class who has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

» Rookie of the Year: Courtney Avery, Football; Rachael Mack, Field Hockey -- Awarded to freshman student-athletes who demonstrated high academic and athletic achievements.

» Mr. Wolverine and Miss Wolverine: Alex Wood, Men's Soccer; Dorian Shaw, Softball -- Awarded to student-athletes who epitomize the ideal student-athlete at Michigan, being well-known around the athletic department and great role models among their peers.

» Ed and Leann Boullion Mott Warrior: Mark Moundros, Football

» Leaders of Distinction: Carl Buchanon, Men's Track and Field; Cara Reitz, Water Polo -- Awarded to student-athletes who participated in the Michigan Leadership Academy Program and received the best feedback from coaches and teammates in a leadership profile examination.

Contact: Barbara Cossman (734) 763-4423