Forty-Six Wolverines Named to 2011 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team

March 30, 2011

Photo Roster of Winter 2010-11 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference office released its winter 2011 Academic All-Big Ten teams on Wednesday (March 30), which includes 46 University of Michigan student-athletes. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Eight members of the defending NCAA national champion men's gymnastics team were named to the Academic All-Big Ten squad. Included among them is senior biochemistry major Ben Baldus-Strauss (Wheaton, Ill./Wheaton Warrenville South HS), who received the 2010 NCAA Elite 88 Award as the student-athlete with the highest GPA competing at last year's national championship.

The men's and women's basketball teams had 11 players honored, including starting guards Darius Morris (Los Angeles, Calif./Windward HS) and Zack Novak (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton HS); Novak was also named to the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America District IV first team for the second straight year. A senior majoring in industrial and operations engineering, Veronica Hicks (Chicago, Ill./Thornwood HS) earned her third Academic All-Big Ten award after being named to the All-Big Ten third team this season.

Five-time All-American and 2011 Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, senior Kylee Botterman (New Lenox, Ill./Lincoln-Wway Central HS) is one of six U-M women's gymnasts on the academic team. The Wolverines captured their fifth straight Big Ten title in 2011 and host an NCAA Regional Championship this Saturday (April 2) at Crisler Arena.

The men's swimming and diving team, which is also coming off a Big Ten championship, placed eight student-athletes on the Academic All-Big Ten team, including junior Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson HS), a four-time All-American and four-time Big Ten champion in 2011. An industrial and operations engineering major, Madwed collects his second award of the kind. On Monday (March 28), Madwed also received the university's Bates-Deskins Award, which honors a junior student-athlete who excels in academics as well as athletics, and is an overall well-rounded individual.

For the third straight year, the conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award following the conclusion of the academic year. Eligible student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution with a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school.
For more information on U-M student-athlete academic awards, visit the Academic Success Program website on

U-M's 2011 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

Men's Basketball (4)
Josh Bartelstein, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undecided, Highland Park, Ill.
Darius Morris, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undecided, Los Angeles, Calif.
Zack Novak, Jr., business, Chesterton, Ind.
Matt Vogrich, So., business, Lake Forest, Ill.

Women's Basketball (7)
Sam Arnold, So., psychology, Medinah, Ill.
Courtney Boylan, Jr., sport management, Chaska, Minn.
Jamillya Hardley, Jr., sociology, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Veronica Hicks, Sr., industrial and operations engineering, Chicago, Ill.
Carmen Reynolds, Jr., Informatics, Hilliard, Ohio
Jenny Ryan, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undeclared, Saginaw, Mich.
Kate Thompson, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undeclared, Plymouth, Minn.

Men's Gymnastics (8)
Ben Baldus-Strauss, Sr., biochemistry, Wheaton, Ill.
Syque Caesar, Jr., communications, Port Saint Lucie, Fla.
Devan Cote, Sr., biochemistry, Hollis, N.H.
Adam Hamers, Sr., political science, Salem, Ore.
Thomas Kelley, Sr., political science, Libertyville, Ill.
Ian Makowske, Sr., English, Redding, Conn.
Rohan Sebastian, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undecided, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Andrew Vance, Sr., economics, Plymouth, Mich.

Women's Gymnastics (6)
Kylee Botterman, Sr., general studies, New Lenox, Ill.
Sarah Curtis, Gr., kinesiology, Reno, Nev.
Kari Pearce, Sr., movement science, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Jordan Sexton, Sr., sociology/psychology, Weddington, N.C.
Trish Wilson, Sr., business administration, Naperville, Ill.
Katie Zurales, So., movement science, Wheaton, Ill.

Men's Swimming & Diving (8)
Hassaan Abdel Khalik, So., movement science, Mississauga, Ontario
Chris Douville, Sr., chemical engineering, Dayton, Ohio
Ryan Feeley, So., business, Rye, N.Y.
Evan Gregg, So., neuroscience, Blacksburg, Va.
Dan Madwed, Jr., industrial And operations engineering, Stamford, Conn.
Connor McCarroll, So., aerospace engineering, Portland, Ore.
Casey Sreenan, Jr., anthropology, Miami, Fla.
Tony Wahl, Sr., computer science, Detroit, Mich.

Women's Swimming & Diving (9)
Valerie Barthelemy, So., naval architecture and marine engineering, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Kristyne Cole, Jr., physical education, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Megan Craig, Jr., brain, behavior and cognitive science, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Caitlin Dauw, Jr., brain, behavior and cognitive science, St. Charles, Ill.
Deirdre Jones, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undeclared, Nashville, Tenn.
Liz Koselka, Jr., anthropology, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Amanda Lohman, Jr., communications, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Alexa Mehesan, Jr., movement science, West Des Moines, Iowa
Rachael Ropeik, Sr., political science, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Wrestling (4)
Anthony Biondo, Sr., English, Clinton Township., Mich.
Chad Bleske, Sr., biology, Washington, Mich.
Brandon Zeerip, So., Literature, Science and the Arts, undeclared, Fremont, Mich.
Justin Zeerip, Sr., elementary education (social studies, mathematics), Fremont, Mich.

Fifty-Five Wolverines Named to Fall 2010 Academic All-Big Ten Team (Dec. 2, 2010)
U-M Student-Athletes Recognized at Annual Academic Awards Banquet (March 29, 2011)