Dauw, Molk Named 2012 Ernest T. Sigler Award Recipients

May 1, 2012

CHICAGO, Ill. -- University of Michigan senior women's swimmer Caitlin Dauw (St. Charles, Ill./St. Charles East) and football center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township HS) have been named the recipients of the 2012 Ernest T. Sigler Award, presented annually to the best Chicago-area Male and Female Athlete by the U-M Club of Greater Chicago. The awards will be presented at the Sports-O-Rama Banquet on Monday, May 14, in Chicago.

During her four-year career as a member of the women's swimming and diving team, she received four NCAA All-America Honorable Mentions and won two Big Ten titles, the latter coming as a junior in 2011. Additionally, she was a two-time All-Big Ten and two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and was named a CSCAA Scholar All-American in 2011. Dauw was part of the program's record-setting 200-yard medley relay team in 2011 (1:38.35) and also holds the second-fastest time in program history in the 200-yard butterfly (1:57.42) and the third-fastest time in the 100-yard butterfly (52.34). She graduated last Saturday (April 28) with a degree in brain, behavior and cognitive science and has been accepted into the U-M School of Nursing.

Molk was a four-year letterman for the football team, starting 41 games at center. As a fifth-year senior captain this past season, Molk was named All-America first team by the Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, Walter Camp Football Foundation and Sporting News. He also was named the Rimington Trophy recipient as the nation's top center, the Big Ten Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year and an All-Big Ten first team member by the media. Molk was selected by the San Diego Chargers in the seventh round (pick No. 226 overall) of the 2012 NFL Draft last Saturday (April 28).

Contact: Justin Dickens, Brad Rudner (734) 763-4423