Kovacs, Boylan Collect U-M's Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards
Jordan Kovacs (L) and Courtney Boylan

May 30, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference announced the 24 Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011-12 academic year on Wednesday (May 30), honoring a male and female athlete from each of the 12 league members.

University of Michigan football senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) and women's basketball senior guard Courtney Boylan (Chaska, Minn./Chaska) were named the Wolverines' sportsmanship award winners.

In addition, one student-athlete from each varsity program was also recognized by exemplifying the principles of good sportsmanship through their conduct during and after competition.

In 2011, Kovacs started 12 games and had 75 tackles -- eight for losses -- four sacks, one interception, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovery for a Wolverines squad that finished with an 11-2 record in a season that was capped by defeating Virginia Tech, 23-20 in overtime, in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. The former walk-on has totaled 266 tackles -- 21 for losses -- five sacks, four interceptions, two forced fumbles and three pass breakups in his career.

Kovacs was named Michigan football's Ufer Spirit Award winner in 2011 and received Lott IMPACT Trophy Player of the Week following the Wolverines' season-opening victory over Western Michigan last season.

During the 2011-12 women's basketball season, Boylan led Michigan in scoring for the first 18 games of the season, finishing the year averaging 12.7 points per game. Her offensive improvement from last season ranked in the top five in the Big Ten Conference among players whose points average increased to double figures.

Boylan started all 32 games, averaging four rebounds and two assists per game. She shot 47 percent from the field, scoring in double figures in 22 of 26 games on the season. She was also named the Big Ten Conference Player of the Week on Nov. 14 and the Paradise Jam Reef Division MVP.

To earn the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside the sports-competition setting.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected.


Baseball: Kolby Wood
Men's Basketball: Stu Douglass
Women's Basketball: Courtney Boylan
Men's Cross Country: Zach Ornelas
Women's Cross Country: Danielle Tauro
Field Hockey: Eileen Brandes
Football: Jordan Kovacs
Men's Golf: Matt Thompson
Women's Golf: Meagan Bauer
Men's Gymnastics: Stacey Ervin
Women's Gymnastics: Katie Zurales
Ice Hockey: Luke Glendening
Men's Lacrosse: J.D. Johnson
Rowing: Kate Grimaldi
Men's Soccer: Tim Bergsma
Women's Soccer: Courtney Mercier
Softball: Caitlin Blanchard
Men's Swimming and Diving: Casey Sreenan
Women's Swimming and Diving: Linnea Johnson
Men's Tennis: Shaun Bernstein
Women's Tennis: Mimi Nguyen
Men's Indoor Track and Field: Matthew Campbell
Men's Outdoor Track and Field: Nick Neuman
Women's Indoor Track and Field: Emily Pendleton
Women's Outdoor Track and Field: Emily Pendleton
Volleyball: Sloane Donhoff
Water Polo: Meagan Cobb
Wrestling: Justin Zeerip