Ninety Wolverines Named to Spring Academic All-Big Ten Team

May 31, 2012

Photo Roster of Spring 2012 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference office announced the 2012 spring Academic All-Big Ten team on Thursday (May 31). Ninety University of Michigan student-athletes representing 12 varsity teams were named to the academic squad. To be eligible for the distinction, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The NCAA runner-up women's rowing team placed 17 student-athletes on the academic squad, including four who were members of U-M's 2012 national champion second varsity eight boat: senior Paige Heil (Fenton, Mich./Fenton); junior-sophomore Chrissy Holm (North Oaks, Minn./Hill-Murray); junior-sophomore Emily Idoni (Fenton, Mich./Fenton); and senior Ariel Piotter (Bridgman, Mich./Bridgman). Senior Felice Mueller (Cleveland Heights, Ohio/Pomfret School, Conn.), the 2012 Big Ten Athlete of the Year in rowing, earned her third Academic All-Big Ten award.

Six members of U-M's Big Ten champion softball team earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition. Leading the contingent was senior first baseman Amanda Chidester (Allen Park, Mich./Cabrini), the 2011 and 2012 Big Ten Player of the Year. Senior centerfielder Bree Evans (Bloomington, Calif./Rialto), a 2012 All-Big Ten second-team selection, earned her second conference academic honor, while fellow second-team selection sophomore outfielder Nicole Sappingfield (Norco, Calif./Norco) earned her first in her first year of eligibility.

Senior forward Luke Glendening (Grand Rapids, Mich./Hotchkiss School, Conn.) was among six members of the ice hockey team to earn Academic All-Big Ten honors. Glendening, the CCHA's 2012 Best Defensive Forward, majored in political science and was a two-time team captain for the Wolverines.

The Big Ten office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and winter seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award this summer. Established by conference Faculty Representatives, student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have a minimum GPA of 3.7 for the current academic year, excluding summer school.

Michigan's 2012 Spring Academic All-Big Ten Team

Chad Jasman, Sr., general studies, Bay City, Mich.

Matt Alessi, Jr., economics, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Miguel Echavarria, Jr., industrial engineering, Medellin, Colombia
Matt Felsenfeld, So., sport management, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Jack Schultz, Jr., computer engineering, White Fish Bay, Wis.

Meagan Bauer, Sr., nursing, Grand Blanc, Mich.
Caramia Sitompul, Jr., art & design, Jakarta, Indonesia
Jenn Cleary, Sr., psychology, East Lansing, Mich.

Luke Dwyer, So., business, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Luke Glendening, Sr., political science, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Luke Moffatt, So., business, Paradise Valley, Ariz.
Lee Moffie, Jr., history, Wallingford, Conn.
Jeff Rohrkemper, Jr., history, Grosse Pointe, Mich.
Lindsay Sparks, Jr., communication studies, Oakville, Ontario

Cy Abdelnour, Jr., art & design, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Jordan Bargas, Sr., business, Boca Raton, Fla.
Doug Bryant, So., cellular & molecular biology, Princeton, N.J.
Jeff Chu, So., mechanical engineering, Berwyn, Pa.
Andrew Hayden, So., biomedical engineering, Carlsbad, Calif.
Jeff Janer, So., business, Novi, Mich.
J.D. Johnson, Jr., business, Malibu, Calif.
Brent Kirshner, Sr., business, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Stephen Levitt, Sr., general studies, Alpine, N.J.
Thomas Paras, Jr., sport management, Lakewood, Ohio
Ryan Snyder, So., mechanical engineering, Houston, Texas
Willie Steenland, Jr., economics, Minneapolis, Minn.
Sean Sutton, Jr., neuroscience, Greenwich, Conn.
Alex Vasileff, Sr., history, Birmingham, Mich.

Nikki Dahlberg-Seeth, So., environment, Orinda, Calif.
Julia Darnton, Sr., psychology, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Nicole Dressler, Sr., economics and public policy, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Lindsey Healy, Sr., movement science, Troy, Mich.
Paige Heil, Sr., psychology, Fenton, Mich.
Chrissy Holm, Jr., communications and psychology, North Oaks, Minn.
Emily Idoni, Jr., business, Fenton, Mich.
Olivia Klipa, Sr., American culture and communications, Wexford, Pa.
Colleen Macke, Jr., biology and German, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Rachael Minore, Jr., political science, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Felice Mueller, Sr., art & design, Cleveland, Ohio
Bryna Oleshansky, So., sociology, Knoxville, Tenn.
Melisa Ongun, Sr., English and international studies, Chicago, Ill.
Ariel Piotter, Sr., general studies, Bridgman, Mich.
Shannon Stief, Jr., psychology, Mukilteo, Wash.
Sarah Trovato, So., undeclared/College of Literature, Science and the Arts, Sewickly, Pa.
Hayley Yudelman, So., undeclared/College of Literature, Science and the Arts, Waban, Mass.

Amanda Chidester, Sr., physical education, Allen Park, Mich.
Bree Evans, Sr., elementary education, Bloomington, Calif.
Stephanie Kirkpatrick, Sr., sport management, Plainfield, Ill.
Hilary Payne, Sr., cellular and molecular biology, Plymouth, Mich.
Nicole Sappingfield, So., comparative literature, Norco, Calif.
Stephanie Speierman, Jr., psychology, Columbia, Md.

Shaun Bernstein, So., business, Plainview, N.Y.
Barrett Franks, So., Undeclared/College of Literature, Science and the Arts, Christchurch, New Zealand

Brooke Bolender, So., elementary education, Delray Beach, Fla.

Ali Arastu, So., movement science, Northville, Mich.
Erik Braun, Sr., psychology, Pinckney, Mich.
Craig Forys, Sr., physical education, Howell, N.J.
Jack Greenlee, Jr., business, Cincinnati, Ohio
Ed Hur, So., biology, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Nick Neuman, Sr., ecology and evolutionary biology, Mokena, Ill.
Zach Ornelas, Jr., physical education, Cedar Park, Texas
Kurt Reichenbach, Sr., physical education, Brighton, Mich.
Aaron Taylor, Jr., business, Rochester Hills, Mich.
Taylor Voice, Sr., brain behavior and cognitive science, Boyne City, Mich.
James Yau, So., movement science, Troy, Mich.

Rebecca Addison, Jr., movement science, Spring Lake, Mich.
Meg Bellino, Jr., theatre, Monroe, Mich.
Erin Busbee, So., undeclared/College Of Literature, Science and the Arts, Cleveland, Ohio
Charlotte Cahill, Jr., movement science, Farmington Hills, Mich.
Joanna Fleming, Jr., industrial and operations engineering, Grand Haven, Mich.
Lindsey Hilton, Jr., German and informatics (mining and information analysis), Rochester Hills, Mich.
Brianna Jenkins, Sr., Spanish and linguistics, Novi, Mich.
Alex Mathews, So., movement science, Birmingham, Mich.
Alicia Patterson, So., philosophy, DeWitt, Mich.
Mary Grace Pellegrini, Sr., public policy, Louisville, Ky.
Kari Prena, Jr., brain behavior & cognitive science, West Bloomfield Twp., Mich.
Chloe Prince, Jr., informatics (social computing, entrepreneurship), Okemos, Mich.
Nicole Prince, Sr., industrial and operations engineering, Okemos, Mich.
Amber Smith, So., undeclared/engineering, Cleveland, Ohio
Jillian Smith, Jr., environment, Manahawkin, N.J.
Kiley Tobel, Jr., brain behavior & cognitive science, Commerce Twp., Mich.
Megan Weschler, So., movement science, Wyandotte, Mich.
Alexandria Williams, Sr., general biology and women's studies, Wallingford, Pa.

Alex Adamson, Jr., English, Coronando, Calif.
Meagan Cobb, Sr., sociology, Hudsonville, Mich.
Lauren Colton, Jr., psychology, Tustin, Calif.
Sophie Høegh, So., international studies, Coral Gables, Fla.
Laura Milstead, So., political science, Hermosa Beach, Calif.
Hathaway Moore, So., psychology, Atherton, Calif.
Natalie Naruns, Jr., industrial and operations engineering, Los Altos, Calif.

Fifty-Six Wolverines Named to 2011 Fall Academic All-Big Ten Team (Dec. 7, 2011)
U-M Student-Athletes Recognized at Annual Academic Awards Banquet (March 26, 2012)
Sixty Wolverines Named to Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team (March 28, 2012)