Seventy-Five Wolverines Earn Spring Academic All-Big Ten Honors

June 2, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference Office announced its 2010 spring Academic All-Big Ten team today (Wednesday, June 2) and the University of Michigan had 75 student-athletes from 11 teams earn the award. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

U-M's spring honorees are headlined by softball team co-captain Angela Findlay (Lockport, Ill./East), a 2010 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America second team selection. A psychology major and four-time All-Big Ten first team pick, Findlay has been named Academic-All Big Ten and Academic All-District three times. She earned NFCA All-America honors in 2007. She was joined by three teammates on the academic team, including 2010 co-Big Ten Player of the Year Nikki Nemitz (St. Clair Shores, Mich./Regina), who was also an NFCA All-American and the league's Pitcher of the Year in 2009. A physical education major pursuing her teacher certification, Nemitz is a four-time All-Big Ten pitcher.

An All-Big Ten second team pitcher, Tyler Burgoon (Defiance, Ohio/Defiance) was named to his first Academic All-Big Ten team. A movement science major, Burgoon ranks second on Michigan's career saves list with 19 and tied the school's single-season saves record with 10 in 2010. He also led U-M in appearances (23), strikeouts (72), wins (6) and saves (10), and was second on the team with a 3.17 earned-run average and .265 opponent batting average during the most-recent campaign.

A political science major, Jason Jung (Torrance, Calif./West Torrance) earned his second Academic All-Big Ten citation after turning in a career season in 2009-10. He earned All-Big Ten honors and qualified for the NCAA Individual Championships in both singles and doubles, advancing to the Sweet 16 in doubles with teammate Evan King (Chicago, Ill./Kaplan). Off the court, Jung was named the national recipient of the ITA Arthur Ashe Award for Leadership & Sportsmanship, and was announced as U-M's 2010-11 team captain on June 1 by head coach Bruce Berque.

The women's tennis team placed five individuals on the academic team, including NCAA qualifiers Denise Muresan (Lincolnshire, Ill./Adlai E. Stevenson), Whitney Taney (Edina, Minn./Edina) and Rika Tatsuno (Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif./Palos Verdes Peninsula). The Wolverines captured the 2010 Big Ten title behind a 24-5 overall record and spotless 10-0 conference mark. A brain, behavior and cognitive science major, Muresan was named the 2010 Big Ten Player of the Year, posting a 33-14 overall record, good for second all-time on U-M's single-season wins list. A two-time All-Big Ten selection and 2009-10 team captain, Taney is a general studies major and two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree. Tatsuno, a psychology and economics major, is also a two-time academic all-conference selection.

The conference office will announce its second annual Big Ten Distinguished Scholars team in July, recognizing student-athletes with GPAs above 3.7 during the 2009-10 academic year.

U-M's 2010 Spring Academic All-Big Ten Selections

Tyler Burgoon, Jr., movement science, Defiance, Ohio
Jeff DeCarlo, Sr., sociology, Medford, Mass.
Vincent Sarafa, Sr., economics, Farmington Hills, Mich.

Brandon Burlon, So., sociology, Nobleton, Ontario
Eric Elmblad, Sr., industrial and operations engineering, St. Ignace, Mich.
Carl Hagelin, Jr., sport management, Sodertalje, Sweden
Matt Rust, Jr., sport management, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Ben Winnett, Jr., psychology, New Westminster, B.C.

Alex Frankel, So., business, Atlanta, Ga.
Michael Slovitt, Sr., political science, Winnetka, Ill.

Ashley Bauer, Sr., business, Grand Blanc, Mich.
Meagan Bauer, So., nursing, Grand Blanc, Mich.
Jenn Cleary, So., psychology, East Lansing, Mich.
Katelin Davis, Jr., environment, Dexter, Mich.
Andrea Ratigan, Sr., psychology, Tucson, Ariz.
Louisa Shu, Jr., brain, behavior and cognitive science, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Min Yean Tan, Jr., sport management, Penang Island, Malaysia

Maggie Cooper, Sr., history, Lake Oswego, Ore.
Julia Darnton, So., psychology, Ann Arbor, Mich.
* Margaret Deinek, Sr., graduate school, Grosse Pointe, Mich.
Lindsey Healy, So., movement science, Troy, Mich.
Paige Heil, So., undeclared/Literature, Science and the Arts, Fenton, Mich.
Kristen Henkels, Sr., business administration, Scotch Plains, N.J.
Olivia Klipa, So., American culture, Wexford, Pa.
Adrienne Mecham, Sr., nursing, Lake Stevens, Wash.
Felice Mueller, So., art & design, Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Melisa Ongun, So., undeclared/Literature, Science and the Arts, Chicago, Ill.
Jordan Peek, Sr., English, Jacksonville, Fla.
Nellie Ruedig, Jr., economics and philosophy, Concord, N.H.
Lauren Schneider, Sr., English and Political science, Rochester, Mich.

Angela Findlay, Sr., psychology, Lockport, Ill.
Nicole Guska, Jr., biology, Orland Park, Ill.
Kristin Larsen, Sr., movement science, Orion, Mich.
Nikki Nemitz, Sr., physical education/teacher certification, St. Clair Shores, Mich.

Jason Jung, Jr., political science, Torrance, Calif.
George Navas, Sr., economics, Tampa, Fla.

Tania Mahtani, Sr., environment, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
Denise Muresan, Jr., brain, behavior & cognitive science, Lincolnshire, Ill.
Whitney Taney, Jr., general studies, Edina, Minn.
Rika Tatsuno, Jr., psychology and economics, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
Kari Wig, Jr., psychology, Cochrane, Alberta

Bobby Aprill, So., sport management, Dexter, Mich.
Chris Baldwin, Sr., psychology and music, Battle Creek, Mich.
Peter Christmas, Sr., English, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Brandon Fellows, Sr., Master's in accounting, Mercer Island, Wash.
Craig Forys, Jr., physical education, Howell, N.J.
John Kipf, Sr., aerospace engineering, Monroe, Mich.
Tony Nalli, Sr., mechanical engineering, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Nicholas Neuman, So., ecology and evolutionary biology, Mokena, Ill.
Kyle Terpak, Sr., biochemistry, Riverview, Mich.
Nick Thomas, So., biochemistry, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Grant Till, Sr., general studies, Wayne, N.J.
Lex Williams, Sr., economics, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Olivia Both, Sr., political science, Columbus, Ohio
Abbey Breidenstein, Sr., microbiology and anthropology, Zionsville, Ind.
Alisha Cole, Sr., movement science, Cadillac, Mich.
Lindsey Gakenheimer, So., microbiology, Monroe, Mich.
Brianna Jenkins, So., Spanish, Novi, Mich.
Amanda McKenzie, Jr., business, Dexter, Mich.
Jenny Morgan, Sr., anthropology, Clarkston, Mich.
Jennifer Neville, Jr., business, Dearborn, Mich.
Sara Olds, Jr., history of art, Perry, Ohio
Kaitlyn Peale, Jr., industrial and operations engineering, Columbus, Ohio
Mary Grace Pellegrini, So., public policy, Louisville, Ky.
Brittany Petty, Jr., general studies, Canton, Mich.
Teleicia Rose, Sr., English, Clinton Township., Mich.
Carly Schiffer, Sr., mechanical engineering, Ovid, Mich.
Rachel Severin, Sr., Literature, Chelsea, Mich.
Danielle Tauro, Jr., sport management, Manahawkin, N.J.
Rachel White, Sr., public policy, New Lothrop, Mich.
Alexandria Williams, So., women's studies, Wallingford, Pa.

Meagan Cobb, So., sociology, Hudsonville, Mich.
Keller Felt, Jr., sociology, La Jolla, Calif.
Alison Mantel, Jr., economics and environment, Miami, Fla.
Cara Reitz, Jr., evolutionary anthropology, Miami, Fla.

* indicates 4.0 GPA

Forty-One Wolverines Earn Fall Academic All-Big Ten Honors (12/2/09)
Fifty Wolverines Receive Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honors (3/31/10)

Contact: Barbara Cossman (734) 763-4423