Doyle, Compher Honored as Ernest T. Sigler Award Winners
JT Compher (L) and Lyndsay Doyle

June 2, 2014

CHICAGO, Ill. -- Former University of Michigan softball standout Lyndsay Doyle (Channahon, Ill./Minooka Community) and rising sophomore JT Compher (Northbrook, Ill.) of the University of Michigan hockey team were named the winners of the 2014 Ernest T. Sigler Award on Monday (June 2) at the Sports-O-Rama Banquet held at the Chicago Marriott.

The award is presented annually to the best male and female student-athletes from the Chicago area by the U-M Club of Greater Chicago.

Doyle recently wrapped up an outstanding career with her best season, earning a unanimous selection to the All-Big Ten first team. She also took a spot on the NFCA All-Great Lakes Region second team after batting .369 with an on-base percentage of .394, and had career highs in hits (83) and steals (13). Doyle was a four-year starter in Michigan's outfield, helping the Maize and Blue to four consecutive Big Ten titles, three NCAA Regional crowns (2012-14), and one appearance in the Women's College World Series (2013). Doyle finished her career with the eighth-most runs scored in U-M history (171). Her home run-saving catch against Arizona State (May 18) clinched U-M's 2014 Regional title and was the ESPN SportsCenter "Best of the Best" play for several days.

Compher was selected as the inaugural Big Ten ice hockey Freshman of the Year after a standout first season with the Wolverines. He also earned All-Big Ten second team recognition and was named to the conference's all-rookie team. Compher led Michigan with 31 points (11G, 20A) and led all Big Ten freshmen with an average of 0.91 points per game. His assists mark was also best among Big Ten freshmen.

Selected by the Buffalo Sabres in the 2013 NHL Draft (2nd Round, 35th overall), Compher was also tops among freshmen in conference play with 20 points (8G, 12A) in 20 games, and he led the Big Ten and was tied for fourth in the nation with three shorthanded goals on the season. Compher's four-point outburst (2G, 2A) on Jan. 24 at Michigan State was the most productive night by a Michigan player since Oct. 13, 2011, when David Wohlberg had four points (G, 3A) in a 10-3 win over St. Lawrence. Compher also had the most points in a game by a Michigan freshman since Andrew Cogliano recorded four points (2G, 2A) in an 8-5 win at Notre Dame on Nov. 4, 2005.

The award is named after Ernest T. Sigler, who served as the executive director of the U-M Club of Greater Chicago for 35 years.

Ernest T. Sigler Award Winners
1977: Dominic Tedesco, Football
1978: Robert J. Creek, Gymnastics
1979: Matt Horwich, Tennis
1980: George Lilja, Football
1981: Kurt Becker, Football
1982: Robert Thompson, Football
1983: Art Balourdos, Football
Dan Pelekoudas, Basketball
1984: Mike Mallory, Football
1985: Doug Mallory, Football
1986: Andre McIntyre, Football
1987: Mike Husar, Football
1988: Derick Walker, Football
1989: Chris Calloway, Football
1990: Erick Anderson, Football
1991: Dave Ritter, Football
1992: Corwin Brown, Football
1993: Robert Pelinka, Basketball
1994: Trezelle Jenkins, Football
1995: Thomas Guynes, Football
1996: Blake Sloan, Ice Hockey
1997: Tai Streets, Football
1998: Bubba Berenzweig, Ice Hockey
Aaron Shea, Football
1999: Tim Dehr, Gymnastics
Elizabeth Kampfe, Track and Field/Cross Country
2000: Robert Fraumann, Football
Jeanne Shin, Field Hockey
2001: Kurt Anderson, Football
Shannon Melka, Volleyball
2002: Dan Rumishek, Football
Molly Powers, Field Hockey
2003: Tony Pape, Football
Chantel Reedus, Volleyball
2004: Jason Avant, Football
Al Montoya, Ice Hockey
Therese Heaton, Soccer
2005: Jason Avant, Football
Samantha Findlay, Softball
2006: Eric Tannenbaum, Wrestling
Katie Lieberman, Gymnastics
2007/2008: Tim Jamison, Football
Katie Bruzdzinski, Volleyball
2009: Adam Harris, Track and Field
Casey Taylor, Track and Field
2010: David Moosman, Football
Angela Findlay, Softball
2011: Thomas Kelley, Gymnastics
Lexi Zimmerman, Volleyball
2012: David Molk, Football
Caitlin Dauw, Swimming
2013: Evan King, Tennis
Katie Zurales, Gymnastics
2014: JT Compher, Ice Hockey
Lyndsay Doyle, Softball

Contacts: Michael Kasiborski and Jeff Weinstein