Michigan Big Ten Sportsmanship Recipients

In 2003, the Big Ten Conference instituted the Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards. One member of each varsity sports team on every campus is nominated by the institution and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners are selected from each school.

The student-athletes chosen shall be individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Butt and Choi photo
2016-17 Big Ten Sportsmanship Recipients: Jake Butt (football) and Grace Choi (women's golf)

Michigan Big Ten Sportsmanship Recipients

Year  Male Recipient Female Recipient
2002-03 Jed Ortmeyer, ice hockey Maya Mandel, swimming & diving
2003-04 Pat Owen, wrestling Lisa Gamalski, volleyball
2004-05 Kevin Dudley, football Michelle DaCosta, tennis
2005-06 Andrew Ebbett, ice hockey Becky Marx, softball
2006-07 Brian Hung, tennis Katie Erdman, track & field
2007-08 Michael Parke, soccer Krista Clement, basketball
2008-09 C.J. Lee, basketball Teddi Ewing, softball
2009-10 Jason Jung, tennis Brittany May, water polo
2010-11 Frank Shotwell, track & field Dorian Shaw, softball
2011-12 Jordan Kovacs, football Courtney Boylan, basketball
2012-13 Jordan Kovacs, football Claire McElheny, volleyball
2013-14 Shaun Bernstein, tennis Courtney Beidler, swimming & diving
2014-15 Devin Gardner, football Nicole Elmblad, basketball
2015-16 Adam Coon, wrestling Ronit Yurovsky, tennis
2016-17 Jake Butt, football Grace Choi, golf