Seventy-One Wolverines Garner Spring Academic All-Big Ten

June 6, 2011

Photo Roster of Spring 2011 Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The Big Ten Conference released its 2011 Spring Academic All-Big Ten teams on Monday (June 6). Included on the list are 71 University of Michigan student-athletes representing 11 varsity athletic teams. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Two members of U-M's NCAA Frozen Four finalist hockey team earned academic honors, both of whom recently signed entry-level NHL contracts: senior captain Carl Hagelin (Sodertalje, Sweden), who signed with the New York Rangers, and senior alternate captain Louie Caporusso (Woodbridge, Ontario), who signed with the Ottawa Senators. U-M's leading scorer in 2010-11, Hagelin was named to the 2011 AHCA West All-America second team, All-CCHA first team, and the CCHA's Best Defensive Forward. A 2008-09 Hobey Baker Memorial Award finalist and AHCA West All-America first team selection, Caporusso registered 23 power-play goals and 15 game-winning goals his senior year.

The entire women's tennis senior class was recognized for its academics after leading the program to the most successful two years in program history. The quartet led U-M to undefeated records in Big Ten play the last two seasons (20-0), back-to-back Big Ten titles and berths in the 2010 and 2011 NCAA Sweet 16. Denise Muresan (Lincolnshire, Ill./Adlai E. Stevenson) -- U-M's career wins leader (111), a three-time All-American and the 2010 and '11 Big Ten Player of the Year -- earned her second Academic All-Big Ten honor, while co-captain Whitney Taney (Edina, Minn./Edina) -- U-M's all-time leader in doubles victories (114) -- earned her third. Fellow co-captain Rika Tatsuno (Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif./Palos Verdes Peninsula) and Kari Wig (Cochrane, Alberta/Cochrane) are also now three-time honorees.

A 2010 Academic All-America third team and 2011 Academic All-District selection, senior distance runner Kaitlyn Peale (Columbus, Ohio/Upper Arlington) graduated this spring with a degree in industrial and operations engineering. She is a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and has earned Academic All-Big Ten three times in cross country and now three times in track and field.

A pair of track and field team members preparing to compete at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships this week (Wed-Fri., June 8-10) were among a total of 26 track and field student-athletes honored for their academics. Redshirt freshman Kiley Tobel (Commerce Twp., Mich./Walled Lake Western) is the second pole vaulter in Michigan history to qualify for the NCAA Championships after finishing 12th at the NCAA East Regional with a vault of 12-7 1/2. On the men's side, senior Craig Forys (Howell, N.J./Colts Neck) will compete in the 3,000-meter steeplechase after setting a personal record of 8:44.92 at regionals.

The conference office will present the Distinguished Scholar Award this summer. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year at their institution who earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher in the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.

U-M's 2011 Spring Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

Michael Kershner, So., LS&A/undecided, Oakland, Calif.

Rahul Bakshi, So., economics, Chandigarh, India
Miguel Echavarria, So., industrial engineering, Medellin, Colombia
Jack Schultz, So., computer engineering, Whitefish Bay, Wis.

Meagan Bauer, Jr., nursing, Grand Blanc, Mich.
Jenn Cleary, Sr., psychology, East Lansing, Mich.
Louisa Shu, Sr. brain, behavior & cognitive sciences, West Bloomfield, Mich.
Caramia Sitompul, So., art & design, Jakarta, Indonesia
Min Yean Tan, Sr., sport management, Penang Island, Malaysia

Louie Caporusso, Sr., general studies, Woodbridge, Ontario
Carl Hagelin, Sr., sport management, Sodertalje, Sweden
Lee Moffie, So., LS&A/undecided, Wallingford, Conn.
Jeff Rohrkemper, So., LS&A/undecided, Grosse Pointe, Mich.
Matt Rust, Sr., sport management, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Lindsay Sparks, So., LS&A/undecided, Oakville, Ontario
Ben Winnett, Sr., psychology, New Westminster, B.C.

Julia Darnton, Jr., psychology, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Taylor Day, Sr., neuroscience, Erie, Pa.
Lindsey Healy, Jr., movement science, Troy, Mich.
Paige Heil, Jr., psychology, Fenton, Mich.
Chrissy Holm, So., general studies, North Oaks, Minn.
Emily Idoni, So., LS&A/undeclared, Fenton, Mich.
Olivia Klipa, Jr., communications and American culture, Wexford, Pa.
Colleen Macke, So., German, Ann Arbor, Mich.
Felice Mueller, Jr., art & design, Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Ariel Piotter, Jr., communications and American culture, Bridgman, Mich.
Lauren Schneider, Sr., political science and English, Rochester, Mich.

Bree Evans, Jr., education, Bloomington, Calif.
Nicole Guska, Sr., biology, Orland Park, Ill.
Stephanie Kirkpatrick, Jr., sport management, Plainfield, Ill.
Dorian Shaw, Sr., sport management, Burke, Va.
Stephanie Speierman, So., psychology, Columbia, Md.

Jason Jung, Sr., political science, Torrance, Calif.
Duncan Muil, Sr., economics, Lake Jackson, Texas

Denise Muresan, Sr., brain, behavior and cognitive psychology, Lincolnshire, Ill.
Whitney Taney, Sr., general studies, Edina, Minn.
Rika Tatsuno, Sr., economics, Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.
Kari Wig, Sr., psychology, Cochrane, Alberta

Bobby Aprill, Jr., sports management, Dexter, Mich.
Erik Braun, So., psychology, Pinckney, Mich.
Craig Forys, Sr., physical education, Howell, N.J.
John Greenlee, So., business, Cincinnati, Ohio
Nick Neuman, Jr., ecology and evolutionary biology, Mokena, Ill.
Zach Ornelas, So., physical education, Cedar Park, Texas
Aaron Taylor, So., LS&A/undeclared, Rochester Hills, Mich.
Nick Thomas, Jr., neuroscience, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Taylor Voice, Jr., general biology, Boyne City, Mich.
Simon Wenet, So., public policy, Seattle, Wash.

Rebecca Addison, So., movement science, Spring Lake, Mich.
Charlotte Cahill, So., movement science, Farmington Hills, Mich.
Alisha Cole, Sr., movement science, Cadillac, Mich.
Bernease Herman, So., actuarial mathematics and mathematics, Twin Lake, Mich.
Lindsey Hilton, So., German, Rochester Hills, Mich.
Jennifer Neville, Sr., business, Dearborn, Mich.
Sara Nitz, So., engineering, Zeeland, Mich.
Kaitlyn Patterson, So., movement science, Cadillac, Mich.
Kaitlyn Peale, Sr., industrial and operations engineering, Columbus, Ohio
Mary Grace Pellegrini, Jr., public policy, Louisville, Ky.
Kari Prena, So., LS&A/undeclared, West Bloomfield Twp., Mich.
Chloe Prince, So., informatics/social computing, Okemos, Mich.
Jillian Smith, So., environment, Manahawkin, N.J.
Danielle Tauro, Sr., sports management, Manahawkin, N.J.
Kiley Tobel, So., LS&A/undeclared, Commerce Twp., Mich.
Alexandria Williams, Jr. neuroscience and women's studies, Wallingford, Pa.

Alex Adamson, So., English, Coronado, Calif.
Meagan Cobb, Jr., sociology, Hudsonville, Mich.
Keller Felt, Sr., sociology, La Jolla, Calif.
Alison Mantel, Sr., economics and environment, Miami, Fla.
Natalie Naruns, So., industrial and operations engineering, Los Altos, Calif.
Lauren Orth, Sr., political science, Poway, Calif.
Cara Reitz, Sr., evolutionary anthropology, Miami, Fla.

46 Wolverines Named to 2011 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Team (3/30/2011)
55 Wolverines Named to 2010 Fall Academic All-Big Ten Team (12/2/2010)