Rivalry Contests

Football-- Michigan vs. Ohio State, the Little Brown Jug and the Paul Bunyan Trophy
Football typically plays three rivalries contests -- Ohio State, Minnesota and Michigan State -- during the season.

The winner of the annual rivalry between Michigan and Ohio State, or "The Big Game" does not receive a trophy for the triumph. Rather, there is usually something much bigger on the line where these two teams match up, be it a conference title, a Rose Bowl berth or even a national championship. The two national powers have met every year since 1918, a 96-year streak which ranks 10th in NCAA Division I-A history for the longest uninterrupted series. Since 1935, the Michigan-Ohio State game has been played on the final Saturday of the Big Ten season.

Dating back to 1909, the battle for the Little Brown Jug between Michigan and Minnesota is the nation's oldest Division I-A trophy game. NCAA Division I-A football teams annually compete in over 65 regular-season trophy games, and each of those games owes its beginning to the University of Michigan, the University of Minnesota, some misgivings about water and a 30-cent, putty-colored jug.

The annual Michigan-Michigan State game not only gives the winner state bragging rights, but also ownership of the mammoth Paul Bunyan Trophy. The four-foot wooden statue, donated by then-Governor G. Mennen Williams in 1953, portrays the legendary figure astride an axe with feet planted on a map of the State of Michigan. Two flags -- one with the Michigan "M" and the other with the Michigan State "S" -- are planted on either side of Bunyan. A five-foot stand supports the statue.

Men's Soccer -- Big Bear Trophy

Big Bear
When the Wolverines and Spartans meet on the pitch, more than state pride is on the line. The two teams battle for the Big Bear Trophy, a wood sculpture U-M head coach Steve Burns purchased to commemorate the rivalry between the schools.

The traveling hardware has been up for grabs in each regular-season meeting between the two schools since 2000. Michigan claimed it in 2003 (right) with the Spartans taking it home on seven occasions. The trophy will be up for grabs for the 11th time in 2010.

Men's Track and Field -- The Dual

The Dual
On January 19, 2008, the University of Michigan hosted The Ohio State University in an indoor dual track and field competition renewing the college athletics greatest rivalry that began outdoors on May 18, 1907, in Ann Arbor and had not been contested since 1993. The teams will square off with each other each year in one indoor dual meet in Ann Arbor and one outdoor dual in Columbus, Ohio.

Both programs have cultivated a century of great champions in the sport. While the dual meet rivalry was primarily contested in the 1920s thru the 1950s, the Wolverines and Buckeyes have met consistently at major invitationals, Big Ten Championships, NCAA Championships and Olympic Games.

As collegiate track and field has evolved, the time was right to renew this best of intercollegiate competition and team spirit. "THE DUAL" has added to the already storied history of UM-OSU athletic battles and created new legends for future Maize 'n Blue and Scarlet 'n Grey supporters to discuss and emulate. This meet provides a unique opportunity that only UM-OSU student-athletes, coaches and supporters can experience: a passion to compete head on against a respected rival who will give their best effort in an atmosphere of fair play and good sportsmanship. In addition, a traveling trophy, "The Dual" pennant, is awarded to the winning team.

Volleyball -- State Pride Series

State Pride
The University of Michigan and Michigan State University share a long history of rivalries, in academics and athletics. To celebrate the volleyball rivalry, the two State of Michigan and Big Ten Conference institutions sponsor a "State Pride" season series with each university hosting a "State Pride Night" when the teams meet during the regular season.

A State of Michigan flag bearing the motto "Tuebor" or "I will defend" serves as a symbol of the Michigan/Michigan State volleyball rivalry. The winner of the season's two head-to-head matches retains possession of the flag for the year. The flag flew above the State Capital in Lansing on September 18, 1990, the first season of the "State Pride" battle.

In addition to the state flag, each school's winning year is listed on its half of the special Michigan/Michigan State banner which hangs in each university's home arena.

A new chapter of the State Pride Series was written in 2005 when Michigan head coach Mark Rosen designed and built a custom trophy case for the original state flag and had each team's winning years engraved on its face. The winner of each State Pride series will hold the trophy in its possession until the following year's contest is decided.