2010-11 MGoBlue.com Awards: Play of the Year

July 29, 2011

MGoBlue.com is recognizing the best of the 2010-11 Michigan athletics school year with the MGoBlue.com Awards. The awards cover 25 categories, including seven that will be selected by fan voting.

Check back each weekday Monday, July 11, through Friday, July 29, as we reveal the nominees and winners for the MGoBlue.com Awards. Fan voting concluded Friday, July 22, at midnight EDT. Thanks to all who cast their ballots!

Play of the Year
Friday, July 29

Category Winner/Announcement Date Video Voting
Play of the Year (Fan Vote) Denard Robinson 87-yard Run at Notre Dame (Football) Watch Nominees
Women's Team Coach of the Year (Fan Vote) Carol Hutchins (Softball) Watch Nominees
Men's Team Coach of the Year (Fan Vote) Red Berenson (Ice Hockey) Watch Nominees
Women's Team of Year (Fan Vote) Softball Watch Nominees
Men's Team of Year (Fan Vote) Ice Hockey Watch Nominees
Female Athlete Year (Fan Vote) Alison Mantel (Water Polo) Watch Nominees
Male Athlete Year (Fan Vote) Denard Robinson (Football) Watch Nominees
Comeback Athlete of Year Trish Wilson (Women's Gymnastics) Watch  
Breakthrough Performance of Year Denard Robinson (Football),
Darius Morris (Men's Basketball)
Female Freshman of Year Rachael Mack (Field Hockey)
Brooke Bolender (Women's Tennis)
Male Freshman of Year Sam Mikulak (Men's Gymnastics) Watch  
Clutch Performance of Year Carl Hagelin (Ice Hockey) Watch  
Best "M" Magazine Feature Impossible is Nothing (Brock Mealer) by Amy Whitesall Watch  
Hit of the Year Alex Hunt (Volleyball) Watch  
Biggest Comeback of the Year Women's Basketball at No. 24 Ohio State (Jan. 27, 2011) Watch  
Leader of Year Carl Hagelin (Ice Hockey),
Zack Novak (Men's Basketball)
Best Uniform Ice Hockey (Big Chill at the Big House Retro) Watch  
Scholar-Athlete of Year Ian Makowske (Men's Gymnastics) Watch  
Best Video Parachuting Into Michigan Stadium Watch  
Rewind (I need to see that again!) Justin Meram Assist vs. Valparaiso (Men's Soccer) Watch  
Best Atmosphere Yost Ice Arena Watch  
Celebration of the Year Men's Basketball at Michigan State Watch  
Stat of the Year Denard Robinson's (Football) Total Offense Watch  
Event of the Year Big Chill at the Big House (Ice Hockey) Watch  
Senior of Year Jason Jung (Men's Tennis) Watch