Michigan Greats Borges, Lytle, Morrison Named to Hall of Honor

Sept. 15, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Three former standout student-athletes at the University of Michigan have been named to the prestigious U-M Athletics Hall of Honor, director of athletics Dave Brandon announced Saturday (Sept. 15). Men's swimmer Gustavo Borges (1992-95), football player Rob Lytle (1974-76) and ice hockey player Brendan Morrison (1994-97) have been chosen for the honor by a selection committee.

"Gustavo, Rob and Brendan distinguished themselves while competing at the University of Michigan and helped make their teams better because of their hard work, dedication and passion for their respective sports," said Brandon, the Donald R. Shepherd Director of Athletics. "They are deserving of induction into the U-M Athletics Hall of Honor, the highest athletic distinction that our athletic department bestows upon a former student-athlete or coach. We look forward to celebrating their athletic and professional endeavors later this academic year."

Gustavo Borges won 10 NCAA event titles (eight individual, two relay) and claimed NCAA All-America honors 24 times during his career. He helped lead the men's swimming and diving team to the 1995 NCAA team championship and four straight Big Ten team titles. Borges was a 20-time Big Ten champion. He was inducted into the International Swimming Hall of Fame in spring 2012. Borges competed in four Olympic Games for Brazil and won four medals (two silver, two bronze), which are tied for the most earned by any Michigan athlete.

Running back Rob Lytle will be posthumously inducted into the Hall of Honor after passing away in November 2010. A third-place finisher in the balloting for the 1976 Heisman Trophy, Lytle had one of the greatest seasons ever achieved by a Michigan back. After setting a then-Michigan record with 1,469 rushing yards during the 1976 season, Lytle earned first-team All-America honors, was named the Chicago Tribune Silver Football recipient as the Big Ten's Most Valuable Player, and received first-team All-Big Ten accolades. He finished his career as Michigan's all-time leading rusher (currently listed seventh). Lytle played seven seasons in the NFL for the Denver Broncos (1977-83), including an appearance in Super Bowl XII. Lytle will be represented at the induction by his widow Tracy, son Kelly and daughter Erin.

A three-time All-American and the 1997 Hobey Baker Award winner, Brendan Morrison led the Michigan ice hockey program to the 1996 NCAA championship, the program's first national title since the 1963-64 season. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 1996 Frozen Four. Morrison was a two-time CCHA Player of the Year and three-time All-CCHA first team selection. Morrison helped the Wolverines claim four straight CCHA regular-season titles and three tournament crowns. He concluded his Michigan career with a school-record 284 points.

Borges was named the 1993-94 U-M Male Athlete of the Year, while Morrison collected the honor in 1996-97.

The official announcement came at halftime of the football game against Massachusetts today. The formal induction will take place on Saturday, Feb. 16, when the University of Michigan formally rededicates Crisler Center. An interactive area inside Crisler Center will highlight the careers of the 200-plus members of the Hall of Honor.

The U-M Athletics Hall of Honor was established in 1978 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions as athletes, coaches and administrators to the tradition of Wolverine athletics and, in doing so, have enhanced the image and reputation of the University of Michigan.

Those student-athletes inducted into the Hall of Honor have met the following criteria, listed in order of importance: University of Michigan graduate; NCAA champion or national championship team member; All-American; national or conference player of the year; individual or team Big Ten champion; all-conference award recipient; U-M, Big Ten, NCAA, World, U.S. or Olympic record holder; U-M team captain; Olympic team member or medalist.

The following criteria will be considered when selecting coaches: National Coach of the Year; NCAA team championship; coach of NCAA individual champions; previous induction into specific sport hall of fame.

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423