Cronenworth Named to Stopper of the Year Watch List
MGOBLUE Jacob Cronenworth
MGOBLUE
Jacob Cronenworth
MGOBLUE

Feb. 11, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- University of Michigan sophomore infielder/right handed pitcher Jacob Cronenworth (St. Clair, Mich./St. Clair) has been named to the 10th annual Stopper of the Year watch list, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced today (Tuesday, Feb. 11). The Stopper of the Year Award is given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

Cronenworth is one of 50 Division I relievers named to the list. Last season, the St. Clair, Mich., native had a 1.93 earned-run average and seven saves in 15 appearances for the Maize and Blue. Cronenworth, who was named to multiple Freshman All-America teams in 2013, struck out 24 batters in 23.1 innings pitched and allowed just five earned runs. The second team All-Big Ten selection at utility, Cronenworth tied for sixth in the Big Ten in saves. He struck out four batters in three innings at Indiana (April 28) and struck out the side in an inning of work at Florida Gulf Coast (March 4).

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 21, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

Michigan opens the 2014 season this Friday (Feb. 14) at the Texas State Tournament in San Marcos, Texas. The Maize and Blue faces host Texas State at 3:30 p.m. CST (4:30 p.m. ET) and Washington at 7 p.m. CST (8 p.m. ET).

Contact: Kent Reichert (734) 763-4423


Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2015 Michigan baseball ticket opportunities.