Postgame Notes: #4 Michigan 71, Kansas State 57

Nov. 23, 2012

Recap |  Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

• Playing in the championship game of the NIT Season Tip-Off for the first time, Michigan won its first NIT Season Tip-Off title in program history.

• Michigan carries a 9-5 all-time record in the preseason event.

• With the win, John Beilein is now 10-8 at Madison Square Garden, including 3-1 with the Wolverines.

• After recording 39 points and 11 rebounds in the championship round, Tim Hardaway Jr. was named tournament MVP. Trey Burke joined him on the all-tournament team after tallying 27 points and 10 assists in two games.

• Michigan outrebounded Kansas State, 42-30, in the win. The Wolverines have outrebounded their opponents by 10 or more in each of their first five games.

• Michigan has had 10 or fewer turnovers in four of five games this season -- nine vs. Slippery Rock, 10 vs. Cleveland State, nine vs. Pittsburgh and nine in today's win over KSU.

• Holding Kansas State to just 36.7 percent (22-for-60) shooting in the win, Michigan has now held four of its five opponents to under 40 percent shooting.

• Michigan had 11 players see action by the end of the first half.

Tim Hardaway Jr. (23) scored in double figures for the fifth straight game, and it was the 14th time he had 20-plus points in game. It marked the 59th double-digit scoring effort of his career.

Trey Burke scored all 10 of his points in the second half, as he recorded his fifth straight game in double figures. It marked the 35th time in his 39-game career he had a double-figure game.

Nik Stauskas has recorded at least one three-pointer in all five games this season.

• With his 10 points tonight, Nik Stauskas has now scored in double figures in each of the last four games.

Glenn Robinson III pulled down a career-high 12 rebounds to lead Michigan in the win.

Josh Bartelstein did not dress for the game due to an ankle injury suffered in the season opener against Slippery Rock (Nov. 9).

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.