Trio of Wolverines Named to Midseason List of National Awards

Jan. 31, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan men's basketball sophomore guard Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS) was named to the 12-player midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy National Player of the Year award, while freshmen Glenn Robinson III (St. John, Ind./Lake Central HS) and Nik Stauskas (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada/St. Mark's [Mass.]) were both part of the 12-player list for the Wayman Tisdale Award National Freshman of the Year as announced today (Thursday, Jan. 31) by the United State Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

Burke, who is a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award for the nation's top point guard, as well as several other national and conference player of the year honors, has guided U-M to a 20-1 record and the program's first No. 1 ranking since 1992.

He leads the Wolverines with 17.9 points and 7.1 assists per game, while averaging career bests in field goal percentage (49.6), three-point field goal percentage (37.1) and free throw percentage (77.9). He is the only Wolverine to score in double figures in all 21 games.

Burke, who has led U-M in assists in every game, recently surpassed 300 for his career. He recorded a career-best 12 against Iowa (Jan. 6) and posted three point-assist double-doubles.

Robinson has averaged 12.6 points and 5.8 rebounds per game in his first season. He has started every game and is shooting 60.1 percent from the field. A two-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week recipient, he has 14 double figure scoring games with three 20-plus point games, including a career-best 21 against IUPUI (Nov. 12). He has recorded two double-doubles.

Stauskas, who is a three-time Big Ten Freshman of the Week award recipient, continues to rank among the nation's leaders in three-point field goal percentage, leading the Big Ten with a 49.5 percentage. He averages 12.6 points with 19 double figure scoring games. He leads U-M with 54 long range buckets.

The awards will be presented at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards ceremony on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Oscar Robertson Trophy National Player of the Year
Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Trey Burke, Michigan
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Russ Smith, Louisville
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Cody Zeller, Indiana

Wayman Tisdale Award National Freshman of the Year
Jordan Adams, UCLA
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Isaiah Austin, Baylor
Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Nik Stauskas, Michigan

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List Announced (1/31/2013)
Integris Wayman Tisdale Award Midseason Watch List Announced (1/31/2013)

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.