Burke Named Top-30 Finalist for Naismith Player of the Year Award
Trey Burke

Feb. 26, 2013

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Sophomore guard Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS) of the University of Michigan men's basketball team was named one of 30 finalists today (Tuesday, Feb. 26) for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Player of the Year award presented by AT&T and the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

Burke, who is also a finalist for the Oscar Robertson Trophy National Player of the Year award, the Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, the John R. Wooden National Player of the Year award and All-America team, has continued to guide U-M in his second season as the Wolverines sport a 23-4 overall record and an 10-4 mark in Big Ten play heading into Wednesday (Feb. 27) against Penn State.

Burke, who leads the nation in assist-to-turnover ratio (3.90), is averaging a career best for points (18.9), assists (6.9), steals (1.5), field goal percentage (49.6), three-point percentage (39.7) and free throw percentage (78.6). He recently became the 47th Wolverine and the seventh U-M sophomore to reach 1,000 career points. Burke, who is the only Big Ten player to score 15 or more points in every conference game, has scored in double figures and led U-M in assists in all 27 games this season.

In late March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow down the list to four finalists. The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013, in Atlanta.

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to text their votes for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner. Voting will open to fans on Monday, March 25. Naismith Trophy presenting sponsor AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, enabling even more fans to participate

2013 Naismith Men's Player of the Year Award, Top 30 Finalists
Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Jared Berggren, Wisconsin
Trey Burke, Michigan
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Ian Clark, Belmont
Rotnei Clarke, Butler
Jack Cooley, Notre Dame
Allen Crabbe, California
Seth Curry, Duke
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's
Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Shane Larkin, Miami
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Rodney McGruder, Kansas State
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA
Mike Muscala, Bucknell
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
Brandon Paul, Illinois
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Otto Porter Jr., Georgetown
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Jeff Wolters, South Dakota State
Cody Zeller, Indiana

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.