U-M Receives No. 7 Seed, Draws Oklahoma State for NCAA Opener

March 12, 2017

NCAA Bracket | Printable Bracket
NCAA Tournament Central | NCAA Site
Indianapolis Site Information

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Big Ten Tournament champion University of Michigan men's basketball team received its first automatic berth and seventh NCAA Tournament bid overall under head coach John Beilein today (Sunday, March 12). The Wolverines will be the No. 7 seed in the Midwest Region and will face No. 10 seed Oklahoma State in the first round on Friday (March 17) at 12:15 p.m. in Indianapolis, Indiana. CBS will televise the game from Bankers Life Fieldhouse.

The Michigan-Oklahoma State winner will advance to the second round to face the winner of No. 2 seed Louisville and No. 15 seed Jacksonville State on Sunday (March 19) for a spot in the Midwest Region semifinals at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri.

U-M will make its 27th overall NCAA Tournament appearance in program history and carries a 52-25 (45-21 after sanctions) all-time record, including winning the 1989 national title. The Maize and Blue will be appearing in the NCAA Tournament for the sixth time in the last seven seasons.

The Wolverines enter the NCAA Tournament with a 24-11 overall record, which includes a 10-8 mark in Big Ten Conference play. U-M has reached the 20-win mark for the 27th time in program history and the seventh time during Beilein's tenure.

U-M was seeded eighth at the Big Ten Tournament and defeated No. 2 seed Wisconsin, 71-58, in the championship game earlier today. Michigan advanced to the Big Ten Tournament final with a 75-55 second-round win over Illinois (March 9), a 74-70 overtime victory over top-seeded Purdue in the quarterfinals (March 10), and an 84-77 triumph over Minnesota in the semifinals (March 11).

Beilein is guiding the Wolverines to the NCAA Tournament for the seventh time in his 10 seasons as head coach of the Wolverines, which includes an appearance in the national championship game in 2013. This season's bid to the NCAA Tournament is the 12th overall for Beilein and his 11th at the Division I level. Beilein is one of 12 coaches to take four different Division I teams to the NCAA Tournament (Canisius, Richmond, West Virginia and Michigan). He also guided Le Moyne College to the NCAA Division II Tournament in 1988.

Michigan is one of seven Big Ten schools to earn a spot in the 68-team NCAA Tournament field, joining Purdue, Wisconsin, Maryland, Minnesota, Michigan State and Northwestern.

A look at the other teams in Michigan's part of the bracket for the NCAA first and second rounds:

• No. 10 seed Oklahoma State (20-12) fell to Iowa State in the quarterfinals of the Big 12 Tournament in Kansas City. The Cowboys finished the conference with a 9-9 record and are led by Juwan Evans' 19.0 points per game. Jeffrey Carroll (17.4 ppg) and Phil Forte III (13.3 ppg) also are averaging in double figures in scoring, with Forte shooting 95.3 percent from the free throw line.

• No. 2 seed Louisville (24-8) fell to Duke in the quarterfinals of the ACC Tournament in Brooklyn. Louisville finished tied for third in the ACC with a 12-6 record. Donovan Mitchell leads the Cardinals, averaging 15.7 points per game. Quentin Snider is at 12.7 points per game and leads the team with 107 assists. Louisville averages 77.5 points a contest.

• No. 15 seed Jacksonville State (20-14) earned the automatic bid from the Ohio Valley Conference after defeating UT-Martin, 66-55, to win the OVC Tournament. Erik Durham led JSU with 17 points in the championship game victory. Malcolm Drumwright leads JSU with 12.6 points per game, one of four Gamecock players that average in double figures. JSU finished the OVC regular season at 9-7 and was the No. 4 seed in the conference tournament.

The Midwest Regional will be played March 23 & 25 at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The Final Four is scheduled for Saturday and Monday, April 1 & 3, at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Communications Contact: Tom Wywrot

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.