Stauskas on USA Today's All-America Third Team
Nik Stauskas

March 13, 2014

USA Today All-America Teams

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan men's basketball sophomore Nik Stauskas (Mississauga, Ontario/St. Marks [Mass.]) was named today (Thursday, March 13) to USA Today's All-America third team. The honors is Stauskas' second All-America selection after Sporting News named him to its second team.

Stauskas, who was the lone Big Ten player selected on all three teams, was joined on the third team by Iowa State' Melvin Ejim and DeAndre Kane, Arizona's Nick Johnson and UCLA's Kyle Anderson. First team honors went to Creighton's Doug McDermott, Duke's Jabari Parker, UConn's Shabazz Napier, Cincinnati's Sean Kilpatrick and Louisville's Russ Smith.

Stauskas helped the Wolverines finish the regular season with a 23-7 overall mark and guided them to their first outright Big Ten title in 28 years with a 15-3 record. The Wolverines earned their first No. 1 seed at the upcoming Big Ten Tournament.

Stauskas, who was named the Big Ten's Player of the Year and was the only unanimous All-Big Ten first team selection, led the Maize and Blue with 17.4 points and 3.5 assists while pulling down 3.3 rebounds per game. He scored in double figures in 25 of his 29 games, with 13 20-plus point games, including a career-best 26 twice. He is the only player in the Big Ten to rank among the top 11 for field goal percentage (48.9), three-point percentage (45.8) and free throw percentage (81.1).

The Wolverines open conference tournament play on Friday (March 14) at noon against the winner of the match-up between No. 8 seed Indiana and No. 9 seed Illinois.

2014 USA Today All-America Teams

First Team
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Jabari Parker, Duke
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Russ Smith, Louisville

Second Team
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Third Team
Nik Stauskas, Michigan
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Nick Johnson, Arizona
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Honorable Mention
Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
James Bell, Villanova
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Joel Embiid, Kansas
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Casey Prather, Florida
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
T.J. Warren, North Carolina State
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida
Xavier Thames, San Diego State

Nik Stauskas' 2013-14 Postseason Honors
• Sporting News All-America, second team
• USA Today All-America, third team
• Big Ten Player of the Year
 » Big Ten Coaches
 » Big Ten Media
• All-Big Ten, first team
 » Big Ten Coaches (only unanimous selection)
 » Big Ten Media (only unanimous selection)
• USBWA District V Player of the Year
• USBWA All-District V Team
• NABC All-District, first team

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.