U-M a No. 4 Seed in NCAA Tourney, Will Play South Dakota State

March 17, 2013

• NCAA Tournament: Bracket | Michigan Central
Coach Beilein Press Conference video icon | Player Reaction video icon | Audio Interviews

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The University of Michigan men's basketball team received its fourth at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament in the past five years on Sunday evening (March 17).

The Wolverines are the No. 4 seed in the South Region and will face No. 13 seed South Dakota State in the second round at 7:15 p.m. Thursday (March 21) at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Auburn Hills, Mich. The game will be televised by CBS. There is limited ticket availability through Ticketmaster.

The Michigan-South Dakota State winner will advance to the third round to face the winner of No. 5 seed VCU and No. 12 seed Akron on Saturday (March 23) for a spot in the South Region semifinals in Arlington, Texas, at Cowboys Stadium. Third-round game times are TBA.

U-M makes its 24th overall NCAA Tournament appearance in program history and carries a 43-22 (36-18 after sanctions) all-time record, including winning the 1989 national title. It marks the first time Michigan has earned three straight tournament berths since 1994-96.

Michigan enters the tournament with 26-7 overall record. U-M finished with a 12-6 record in Big Ten play to finish in a tie for fourth. The Wolverines' 26-7 record continues to be the best record for U-M under sixth-year head coach John Beilein. The 26 wins mark the fourth 20-win season in the last five years and help Beilein become the first U-M coach to win 20 games in four of his first six seasons.

U-M began its postseason as the No. 5 seed at the Big Ten Tournament. The Wolverines defeated 12th-seeded Penn State, 83-66, in the first round before falling to fourth-seeded Wisconsin, 68-59, in the quarterfinals.

Michigan has been led all season by sophomore guard Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS), who was named the 2013 Big Ten Player of the Year and a unanimous selection to the All-Big Ten first team by coaches and media. Burke is averaging a career best for points (19.2), assists (6.73), field goal percentage (47.9), three-point percentage (40.1), free throw percentage (79.3) and steals (1.6) per game. During the season, he became the seventh U-M sophomore to reach 1,000 points. He also needs just 14 more assists this season to set the all-time single-season record.

Junior guard Tim Hardaway Jr. (Miami, Fla./Palmetto Senior), who recently played in his 100th career game, also received All-Big Ten first team honors from the coaches and second team recognition from the media. He is averaging a career best for points (14.8), rebounds (4.7), assists (2.3), field goal percentage (44.9) and three-point field goal percentage (37.3).

Freshman forward Glenn Robinson III (St. John, Ind./Lake Central HS) was named All-Big Ten honorable mention by the coaches and to the Big Ten All-Freshman team, while redshirt junior forward Jordan Morgan (Detroit, Mich./University of Detroit Jesuit) was named to the Big Ten All-Defensive team, both by the coaches.

Beilein is taking his ninth team to an NCAA Tournament, including his fourth while at U-M. He is one of just seven coaches in NCAA history to take four different schools to the NCAA Tournament -- Canisius (1996), Richmond (1998), West Virginia (2005, '06) and Michigan (2009, '11, '12, '13).

South Dakota State (25-9), which is under the direction of 17th-year head coach Scott Nagy, clinched an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament for the second consecutive year by winning its second Summit League Tournament title in as many years.

The Jackrabbits are led by the Summit League Player of the Year, 6-4 guard Nate Wolters, who is averaging 22.5 points, 5.6 rebounds and 5.5 assists per game. Michigan and South Dakota State have met just two times in program history, and the Wolverines hold a 2-0 lead in the all-time series. The Wolverines last faced the Jackrabbits at home on Dec. 3, 1988, where U-M came away with a 104-66 victory.

Akron (26-6) earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament after winning the Mid-American Conference Tournament, defeating Ohio, 65-46, in the title game. The Zips are coached by ninth-year head coach Keith Dambrot, who was named MAC Coach of the Year and is a finalist for the Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award. Akron boasts three players that average double-digit scoring, including two-time MAC Defensive Player of the Year and seven-foot center Zeke Marshall, who averages 13.0 points, 7.1 rebounds and 3.7 blocks per game.

VCU earned its highest seed in the NCAA Tournament since 1985 (No. 2) by recording a 26-8 overall record and 12-4 mark in its first season in Atlantic-10 Conference play. The Rams, under fourth-year head coach Shaka Smart, fell to Saint Louis in the A-10 tournament title game, 62-56. VCU is led by four players in double-figure scoring, including All-Atlantic-10 second team selection Treveon Graham, who averages 15.5 points and 6.0 rebounds per outing, as well as Atlantic-10 Defensive Player of the Year Briante Weber.

Michigan is one of seven Big Ten schools to earn an NCAA Tournament bid, joining Indiana (No. 1, East), Ohio State (No. 2, West), Michigan State (No. 3, Midwest), Wisconsin (No. 5, West), Illinois (No. 7, East) and Minnesota (No. 11, South).

Selection Sunday Interviews
Coach Beilein audio
Josh Bartelstein audio
Tim Hardaway Jr. audio
Trey Burke audio
Jordan Morgan audio
Glenn Robinson III audio
Mitch McGary audio

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.