Burke, Hardaway Selected to NABC All-District 7 First Team
Trey Burke (L) and Tim Hardaway Jr.

March 26, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- University of Michigan men's basketball guards Tim Hardaway Jr. (Miami, Fla./Palmetto Senior HS) and Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS) were named today (Tuesday, March 26) to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 7 first team, recognizing the nation's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes.

Joining the Wolverine duo on the first team are Indiana's Cody Zeller and Victor Oladipo and Ohio State's Deshaun Thomas. Selections to the second team include Indiana's Christian Watford, Michigan State's Keith Appling, Minnesota's Trevor Mbakwe, Ohio State's Aaron Craft and Wisconsin's Jared Berggren Wisconsin.

Led by Hardaway and Burke, U-M advanced to its first Sweet 16 in 19 years after wins over No. 13 seed South Dakota State (71-56) and No. 5 seed VCU (78-53) at the Auburn Hills Regional played at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The Wolverines currently stand at 28-7 overall, marking the most wins in a season in 20 years.

Hardaway is averaging a career best for points (14.9), rebounds (4.6), assists (2.2), field goal percentage (45.5) and three-point field goal percentage (39.3). He became the 46th Wolverine to reach 1,000 career points and the 59th player to play 100-plus career games (103). This season he has scored in double figures in 27 games. He has seven games with 20-plus points, including a season-best 25 twice -- Slippery Rock on Nov. 9 and West Virginia on Dec. 15. He also added four double-doubles during the current campaign.

Burke is averaging a career best for points (18.8), assists (6.74), field goal percentage (47.0), three-point percentage (38.7), free throw percentage (80.1) and steals (1.57). This season, he became just the seventh U-M sophomore to eclipse 1,000 career points and recently set the U-M single-season record and U-M sophomore record for assists (236). Burke has scored in double figures in 34 games this season and 13 with 20-plus points, including a season-best 29 vs. Penn State on Feb. 17. He was the only Big Ten player to score at least 15 points in every conference game.

The Wolverines will now face Kansas on Friday night (March 29, 6:37 p.m. CDT) in Arlington, Texas, at the North Texas Regional Semifinal.


First Team
Trey Burke, Michigan
Cody Zeller, Indiana
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State
Tim Hardaway Jr., Michigan

Second Team
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Christian Watford, Indiana
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Jared Berggren, Wisconsin
Trevor Mbakwe, Minnesota

NABC All-District Teams

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.