Stauskas Adds to Honors, Named to Lute Olson All-America Team
Nik Stauskas

March 28, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan men's basketball sophomore Nik Stauskas (Mississauga, Ontario/St. Marks [Mass.]) was named today (Friday, March 28) to the Olson All-America team and is now a finalist for the Lute Olson Award.

The Lute Olson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I player who has played at least two seasons with his respective team. Freshmen and first-year transfers can be named to the All-America team, but are not eligible to receive the Player of the Year honors.

Stauskas has helped the Wolverines a 27-8 overall record and their first outright Big Ten title in 28 years with a 15-3 record, winning the league by three games. The Wolverines earned their first No. 1 seed at the Big Ten Tournament and reached the championship game first the first time in 16 years. U-M was given the No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament's Midwest region and advanced to its second straight Sweet Sixteen with wins over No. 15 Wofford (57-40) and No. 7 Texas (79-65).

Stauskas, who was named the Big Ten's Player of the Year and was the only unanimous All-Big Ten first team selection, leads the Maize and Blue with 17.4 points and 3.3 assists while pulling down 3.1 rebounds per game. He has scored in double figures in 30 of his 34 games, with 13 20-plus point games, including a career-best 26 twice. He became just the eighth U-M sophomore to reach 1,000 career points. He needs just eight more points to become the 21st Wolverine to score 600-plus points in a season.

The winner of the 2014 Olson award will be announced at the Awards banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men's Basketball Championship.

2014 Lute Olson All-America Team
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Ronnie Baker, Wichita State
Billy Baron, Canisius
Bryce Cotton, Providence
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Joe Harris, Virginia
Nick Johnson, Arizona
DeAndre Kane, Iowa State
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Jabari Parker, Duke
Adreian Payne, Michigan State
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Russ Smith, Louisville
Nik Stauskas, Michigan
Xavier Thames, San Diego State
T.J. Warren, NC State
Scottie Wilbekin, Florida
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

Nik Stauskas' 2013-14 Postseason Honors
• NABC All-America, first team
• Sporting News All-America, second team
• USA Today All-America, third team
• Lute Olson All-America Team
• Big Ten Player of the Year
» Big Ten Coaches
» Big Ten Media
• All-Big Ten, first team
» Big Ten Coaches (only unanimous selection)
» Big Ten Media (only unanimous selection)
• USBWA District V Player of the Year
• USBWA All-District V Team
• NABC All-District, first team

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.