Harris Named Team MVP at Celebration of U-M Hoops

Photo Gallery

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- With senior guard Dion Harris (Detroit, Mich./Redford HS) receiving four awards, including the BILL BUNTIN MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD , and fellow senior forward Brent Petway (McDonough, Ga./Griffin HS) receiving three awards, the University of Michigan men's basketball team honored the outstanding efforts and achievements of its players at the 46th annual U-M Basketball Awards Celebration on Saturday (April 7) at the Junge Family Champions Center.


Harris highlighted the evening with his four awards including earning the Buntin MVP for the second time in his career. Harris, an All-Big Ten third team honoree, started 33 of 35 games and led the Wolverines in scoring, assists, steals and minutes. He was honored with the GARY GRANT AWARD FOR MOST ASSISTS after leading the team with a career-high 3.6 per game, posting his second career 100-assist season with 127.

He received the AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING FREE THROW SHOOTING after making a career-high 85.8 percent from the free throw line (103-for-120), which ranked him third overall in the Big Ten. He also was awarded the IRON MAN AWARD after posting his second 1,000-minute season of his career (1,147), averaging 32.8 minutes per contest. Harris played in 131 career games with 1,599 career points, 398 assists, 334 rebounds and 135 steals. He is second in program history for three-point field goals (268) and three-point field goal attempts (755).

For the third time in his career Petway received the RUDY TOMJANOVICH MOST IMPROVED PLAYER AWARD , an award he shared with sophomore guard Jerret Smith (Romulus, Mich./Romulus HS). Petway, who was a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree, averaged 6.8 points, 5.9 rebounds and 1.5 blocks per game in his senior season. For his efforts on the defensive end he was given the WAYMAN BRITT OUTSTANDING DEFENISVE PLAYER AWARD . With his contributions off the court, he was awarded the THAD GARNER LEADERSHIP AWARD . Petway played in 119 career games with 694 points, 555 rebounds and 146 blocks.

Senior center Courtney Sims (Boston, Mass./Noble & Greenough School) was honored with two awards as he was given with the TRAVIS CONLAN SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD and the LOY VAUGHT REBOUNDING AWARD after leading the team in 2006-07 with a career-high 6.2 rebounds per game. He had seven double-digit rebound games that led to five double-doubles on the season. He was also recognized for becoming the 41st Wolverine to join the 1,000-point club. Sims played in 133 straight games for the Wolverines, which ranks third on Michigan's all-time list. He had 1,329 points, 728 rebounds and 213 blocks in his career.

Fifth-year senior wing Lester Abram (Pontiac, Mich./Pontiac Northern HS) received the STEVE GROTE HUSTLE AWARD for his efforts during his final season. He started 34 of 35 games in 2006-07 and averaged 9.1 points, 3.8 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. He was also recognized for becoming the 42nd Wolverine to join the 1,000-point club. Abram played in 120 career games with 1,274 points, 479 rebounds, 179 assists and 114 steals.

For their efforts off the court and in the classroom, junior guard David Merritt (West Bloomfield, Mich./West Bloomfield HS) and freshman forward Anthony Wright (Sterling, Va./Oak Hill Academy) shared the BODNAR AWARD FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT .

The evening also featured Gerrit Chernoff receiving the OUTSTANDING MANAGER AWARD and the recognition of two of the Wolverines' fan base. Tom "True Blue Tom" Malden received the TRUE BLUE AWARD , which is given to the Wolverine program's most outstanding fan, and Scott Tsuchiyama received the IT'S GREAT TO BE A WOLVERINE FAN AWARD , which is given to the most outstanding Maize Rage fan member.

Michigan closed the 2006-07 season with a 22-13 overall record for its third 20-win season in the last four years. The Wolverines, who were 8-8 in Big Ten play, advanced to the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament and the second round of the Postseason NIT.

2006-07 Award Winners

Dion Harris Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award
Brent Petway Thad Garner Leadership Award
Brent Petway Wayman Britt Defensive Player Award
Lester Abram Steve Grote Hustle Award
Brent Petway
Jerret Smith
Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award
Courtney Sims Loy Vaught Rebounding Award
Courtney Sims Travis Conlan Leadership Award
Dion Harris Gary Grant Award for Most Assists
David Merritt
Anthony Wright
Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement
Dion Harris Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting
Dion Harris Iron Man Award
Gerritt Chernoff Outstanding Manager Award
Tom Malden True Blue (Outstanding Michigan Basketball Fan Award)
Scott Tsuchiyama It's Great To Be A Michigan Wolverine Fan
(Outstanding Maize Rage Fan Award)

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.