Burke Collects Naismith Award, NABC Top Honors
Trey Burke

April 7, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- After leading the University of Michigan men's basketball team to the national championship game for the first time in 20 years, sophomore guard Trey Burke (Columbus, Ohio/Northland HS) was voted the Naismith College Player of the Year Presented By AT&T, as well as the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I Player of the Year, today (Sunday, April 7). Both awards represent the top college basketball players across the country.

As the first Wolverine in program history to receive either honor, he becomes the fifth Big Ten player to earn the Naismith and seventh to collect the award from the NABC. The Big Ten Conference has produced the last two NABC award winners, as Michigan State's Draymond Green garnered the honor a year ago.

Burke also received three other national player of the year honors during this week's Final Four festivities, including the Associated Press National Player of the Year Award, John R. Wooden Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy, as well as the Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.

Burke helped lead Michigan to the program's first national title game in 20 years (1993*) after a 61-56 victory against No. 4 seed Syracuse on Saturday (April 6). Prior to that, the NCAA Tournament South Region's Most Outstanding Player led U-M to the South Region Championship with wins over No. 1 seed Kansas in overtime (87-85) and No. 3 seed Florida (79-59). The Wolverines currently own an overall record of 31-7, matching the most wins in a season in 20 years (31-5).

Burke is averaging a career best for points (18.5), assists (6.76), field goal percentage (45.9), three-point percentage (37.8), free throw percentage (80.3) and steals (1.63). This season, he became just the seventh U-M sophomore to eclipse 1,000 career points and recently set the U-M single-season record and U-M sophomore record for assists (236). Burke has scored in double figures in 36 games this season and 14 with 20-plus points, including a season-best 29 vs. Penn State on Feb. 17. The Big Ten Player of the Year (coaches and media) was the only Big Ten player to score at least 15 points in every conference game.

Burke and the Wolverines will face Louisville, the tournament's top-seeded team, in the national championship game tomorrow night (Monday, April 8, 9:23 p.m.) at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.