Trio of Captains Elected to Lead Michigan Next Season

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Rising fifth-year senior Lester Abram (Pontiac, Mich./Northern HS) along with rising seniors Dion Harris (Detroit, Mich./Redford HS) and Brent Petway (McDonough, Ga./Griffin HS) became the fifth trio of Wolverines to be elected captains in a team vote prior to the 2006 Basketball Awards Celebration at Crisler Arena. All three begin their captaincy immediately for the upcoming 2006-07 season.

With his selection, Abram becomes the first three-time captain for Michigan basketball. Abram returns to the Wolverines after being granted a fifth-year following left shoulder surgery during the 2004-05 season, which only allowed him to play in three games. For his career, he has played in 85 games, with 72 starts, and has averaged 11.2 points per game, 4.1 rebounds and 1.0 steals per game. For his career, he has shot 48.6 percent from the field and 84.6 percent on free throws, which ranks him No. 2 all-time at U-M.

Harris, a 2005 All-Big Ten honorable mention guard, became the 40th Wolverine to score over 1,000 career points during his junior season. He currently ranks No. 32 all-time with 1,130 career points. He has missed just two total games in his career, starting 64 of 94 games. Harris is averaging 11.8 points, 2.6 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game for his career. He ranks No. 3 all-time for three-pointers (196) and three-point attempts (554) in his career.

Petway continues to be the energizer off the bench for the Wolverines. Known for his dunking prowess, Petway is No. 4 all-time for career field goal percentage (193-for-321). Of his 193 career field goals, 103 have come via a dunk (53.3 percent). He has averaged 5.6 points and 3.6 rebounds in his career, along with 1.1 blocks per game. His 94 career blocks has him No. 9 on U-M's all-time lists.

The Wolverines have had tri-captains four previous times: during the 2004-05 season with Abram, Graham Brown and Sherrod Harrell; in 2002-03 season with Rotolu Adebiyi, LaVell Blanchard and Gavin Groninger; in 2000-01 with Chris Young, Leon Jones and Adebiyi; and in 1999-2000 with Josh Asselin, Darius Taylor and Peter Vignier.

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.