Sims Shares MVP Honor With Harris at Awards Banquet

April 12, 2010

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's basketball team honored the efforts and achievements of its players and staff at the 49th annual U-M Basketball Awards Celebration this evening (Monday, April 12) at the Four Points Sheraton.

Senior forward DeShawn Sims (Detroit, Mich./Pershing) took home the BILL BUNTIN MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD and generously asked to share the honor with junior guard Manny Harris (Detroit, Mich./Redford). This marks the second consecutive year the pair has shared the award. At last year's banquet, roles were reversed when Harris chose to share the award with Sims.

Sims, who was named to the All-Big Ten second team by both the coaches and the media, also took home the LOY VAUGHT REBOUNDING AWARD after leading the Wolverines with 7.6 boards per game. He also earned the IRON MAN AWARD.

Sims averaged a career-best 16.8 points per game while scoring in double figures 26 times and leading the Wolverines in scoring on 14 occasions. Named to the NABC District 7 second team, Sims became just the seventh player in U-M history to reach 1,500 career points and 700 career rebounds, finishing his career with 1,584 career points (16th all-time) and 728 rebounds (tied for 13th all-time). A candidate for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, Sims was the only U-M player to start all 32 games this season.

Sophomore guard Zack Novak (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) joined Sims in taking home a trio of awards. Novak was awarded the STEVE GROTE HUSTLE AWARD, the THAD GARNER LEADERSHIP AWARD and the inaugural CHARGE AWARD. U-M's third-leading scorer and rebounder, Novak averaged 7.4 points and 4.3 rebounds per game. Novak, a CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America District IV first team honoree, was also the first sophomore captain in program history.

Harris took home the GARY GRANT AWARD FOR MOST ASSISTS after leading the Wolverines with 4.1 assists per game. He also claimed the AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING FREE THROW SHOOTING, leading U-M at 80.0 percent from the charity stripe. Harris led the Wolverines in scoring (18.1 points per game) and earned All-Big Ten third team honors from both the coaches and media. Harris was a top-20 finalist for the Bob Cousy Award and a midseason top-30 finalist for the John R. Wooden Award.

Sophomore Stu Douglass (Carmel, Ind./Carmel) was given the TRAVIS CONLAN SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD, while fifth-year senior forward Zack Gibson (Grand Blanc, Mich./Grand Blanc) was given the SIXTH MAN AWARD for the third straight season for his contributions off the bench. Freshman guard Matt Vogrich (Lake Forest, Mich./Lake Forest) was honored for his work in the classroom with the BODNAR AWARD FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT.

Freshman forward Blake McLimans (Hamburg, N.Y./Worcester Academy) did not see game action in 2009-10, redshirting the season, but was honored with the RUDY TOMJANOVICH MOST IMPROVED PLAYER AWARD. Freshman guard Darius Morris (Los Angeles, Calif./Windward) earned the WAYMAN BRITT OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE PLAYER AWARD. Morris appeared in all 32 games, making 19 starts.

Michigan closed the 2009-10 campaign with a record of 15-17, highlighted by a pair of victories over top-15 ranked opponents (Ohio State and Connecticut) as well as U-M's first back-to-back road victories in four seasons. The Maize and Blue also ranked in the top 10 nationally in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.4) and turnovers per game (10.2).

2010 Michigan Basketball Celebration Awards

Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award: DeShawn Sims, Manny Harris
Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award: Blake McLimans
Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player Award: Darius Morris
Steve Grote Hustle Award: Zack Novak
Thad Garner Leadership Award: Zack Novak
Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Stu Douglass
Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement: Matt Vogrich
Gary Grant Award for Most Assists: Manny Harris
Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: DeShawn Sims
Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting: Manny Harris
Sixth Man Award: Zack Gibson
Iron Man Award: DeShawn Sims
Charge Award: Zack Novak

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.