Wolverines to Open with Memphis at Maui Invitational
  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss
MGOBLUE  
MGOBLUE
 
MGOBLUE

Aug. 4, 2011

MAUI, Hawaii -- The University of Michigan men's basketball team will face Memphis in the first round of the Maui Invitational, to be hosted by Chaminade University, on Monday, Nov. 21, at 10 a.m. HST (3 p.m. EST). The announcement came Thursday (Aug. 4) in conjunction with ESPN's Bracket Reveal.

Michigan's game against the Tigers will be televised on ESPN2. If U-M wins, it will play the winner of the Duke/Tennessee matchup on Tuesday, Nov. 22, at 2 p.m. HST (7 p.m. EST) on ESPN. If the Wolverines lose their first-round game, they will play the loser of Blue Devil/Volunteers game on Tuesday at 9 a.m. HST (2 p.m. EST) on ESPN2.

The bottom half of the Maui Invitational bracket matches UCLA against Chaminade and Georgetown against Kansas in the first round. The championship game will be contested on Wednesday, Nov. 23, at 5 p.m. HST (10 p.m. EST on ESPN.

As part of the expanded Maui Invitational format, U-M's tournament will first begin in Ann Arbor on Monday (Nov. 14), as the Wolverines will square off against Towson at Crisler Arena.

U-M competed in the first-ever Maui Invitational in 1985, then known as the Silversword Classic, and won the inaugural event. The Wolverines returned to the Lahaina Civic Center in 1988 and again took home the tournament title. U-M also appeared in the Maui Invitational in 1994, finishing second, and in 1998.

Maui Invitational Bracket

Michigan at the Maui Invitational
Mon-Wed., Nov. 21-23, 2011
Lahaina Civic Center • Maui, Hawaii

DateOpponentTimeTV
Nov. 21vs. Memphis10 a.m. HST (3 p.m. EST)ESPN2
Nov. 22If win, vs. winner of Duke/Tennessee (semifinal)2 p.m. HST (7 p.m. EST)ESPN
 If lose, vs. loser of Duke/Tennessee (consolation)9 a.m. HST (2 p.m. EST)ESPN2
Nov. 23If win semifinal, advance to championship5 p.m. HST (10 p.m. EST)ESPN
  If lose semifinal, third/fourth place game 2:30 p.m. HST (7:30 p.m. EST)ESPN2
  If win consolation, fifth/sixth place game Noon HST (5 p.m. EST)ESPN2
  If lose consolation, seventh/eighth place game 9:30 a.m. HST (2:30 p.m. EST)ESPNU

Trip to Maui Invitational Highlights Non-Conference Slate (Aug. 1, 2011)
U-M to Play Virginia at Annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge (May 17, 2011)
Wolverines to Take Part in 2011 Maui Invitational (Oct. 14, 2010)

Contact: Tom Wywrot, Whitney Dixon (734) 763-4423


Join the season ticket interest list for priority access to 2014-15 Michigan men's basketball tickets.

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2014-15 Michigan men's basketball ticket opportunities.

   

    Credit Card
    Photo Store