McGary Named to Associated Press Preseason All-America Team
Mitch McGary

Nov. 4, 2013

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- University of Michigan men's basketball sophomore forward Mitch McGary (Chesterton, Ind./Brewster Academy [N.H.]) has been named today (Monday, Nov. 4) to the Associated Press Preseason All-America team. McGary's honoring gives U-M back-to-back years with the preseason selection after former Wolverine Trey Burke (2012-13) earned a spot of the five-player team last season.

McGary was joined on the AP All-America team by Oklahoma State sophomore Marcus Smart, who was a unanimous selection, Creighton senior Doug McDermott, Louisville senior Russ Smith and Kansas freshman Andrew Wiggins.

In the preseason, McGary has been named to a total of five All-America teams with USA Today (first team), Sporting News (first team), Athlon Sports (second team) and Blue Ribbon College Basketball (second team). He was recently named to the Preseason All-Big Ten team.

McGary is the fourth Wolverine to earn the preseason AP honor, joining Gary Grant (1987-88), Chris Webber* (1992-93) and Trey Burke (2012-13). The accolade was first started during the 1986-87 season.

The Wolverines opened their 2013-14 campaign with a 117-44 exhibition victory over Concordia on Oct. 29 at Crisler Center and wrap up the preseason Monday (Nov. 4) against Wayne State. The regular season begins on Friday, Nov. 8, against UMass-Lowell. The Nov. 8 game is scheduled to be the banner raising ceremony for U-M's 2013 NCAA Final Four run and national runner-up finish.

Additional Wolverine Preseason Honors
U-M Predicted Second; McGary, Robinson III Preseason All-Big Ten (10/31/2013)
McGary Chosen for Two More Preseason All-America Teams (9/27/2013)
McGary Selected to USA Today Preseason All-America Team (9/23/2013)
McGary Selected to Sporting News' Preseason All-America Team (9/6/2013)
Robinson III Featured on Cover of Lindy's Basketball Magazine (9/14/2013)

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.