McGary, Robinson III on Preseason Watch List for Wooden Award
Mitch McGary (L) and Glenn Robinson III

Nov. 12, 2013

Wooden Award Release

LOS ANGELES, Calif. -- University of Michigan men's basketball sophomores Mitch McGary (Chesterton, Ind./Brewster Academy [N.H.]) and Glenn Robinson III (St. John, Ill./Lake Central HS) were selected today (Tuesday, Nov. 12) as two of 50 players to watch for the John R. Wooden Award by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

McGary and Robinson are two of 10 Big Ten players to make the listing as Michigan State's Keith Appling, Gary Harris and Adriean Payne, Ohio State's Aaron Craft and LaQuinton Ross, Wisconsin's Sam Dekker, Minnesota's Andre Hollins and Indiana's Noah Vonleh are also among the 50 candidates. Last season, former Wolverine Trey Burke became U-M's first Wooden Award winner.

Recently, McGary was named to the preseason watch list for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Award and five All-America teams -- Associated Press (first team), USA Today (first team), Sporting News (first team), Athlon Sports (second team) and Blue Ribbon College Basketball (second team). He, along with Robinson, were also named to the Preseason All-Big Ten team.

The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the midseason list and the official voting ballot, which will consist of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 grade-point average. The Wooden Award All America Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week of the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament.

The 38th annual Wooden Award ceremony April 11-12 will honor the men's and women's Wooden Award winners and include the presentation of the Wooden Award All America Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award.


2013-14 Preseason Watch List
Jordan Adams, UCLA
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Isaiah Austin, Baylor
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Semaj Christon, Xavier
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Joel Embiid, Kansas
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Joe Harris, Virginia
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Tyler Haws, BYU
Andre Hollins, Minnesota
Rodney Hood, Duke
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Cory Jefferson, Baylor
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Alex Kirk, New Mexico
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Mitch McGary, Michigan
Jordan McRae, Tennessee
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Jabari Parker, Duke
Adreian Payne, Michigan State
Elfrid Payton, Louisiana
Dwight Powell, Stanford
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Juvonte Reddic, VCU
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
LaQuinton Ross, Ohio State
Wayne Selden, Jr., Kansas
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee
Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke
Noah Vonleh, Indiana
Dez Wells, Maryland
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
James Young, Kentucky

Additional Wolverine Preseason Honors
McGary on Preseason Watch List for Oscar Robertson Trophy (11/5/2013)
McGary Named to Associated Press Preseason All-America Team (11/4/2013)
U-M Predicted Second; McGary, Robinson III Preseason All-Big Ten (10/31/2013)
McGary Chosen for Two More Preseason All-America Teams (9/27/2013)
McGary Selected to USA Today Preseason All-America Team (9/23/2013)
McGary Selected to Sporting News' Preseason All-America Team (9/6/2013)
Robinson III Featured on Cover of Lindy's Basketball Magazine (9/14/2013)

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan men's basketball season tickets for the 2017-18 season.