Darrell Funk
Darrell  Funk

Offensive Line Coach


2012 Michigan Football Roster

2012 Michigan Football Roster


Wolverine Press Conference Notebook

Wolverine Press Conference Notebook


Countdown to Kickoff - Day 2

Offensive line coach Darrell Funk speaks about Ricky Barnum, Elliott Mealer, Taylor Lewan and this year's freshmen.

Darrell Funk is in his fourth year with Michigan football as offensive line coach. Prior to joining the Wolverines in 2011, he previously served under Brady Hoke at both San Diego State (2009-10) and Ball State (2008), coaching the offensive line.

In each of Funk's three seasons at Michigan, his lines have produced the Big Ten Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year. Center David Molk won the award in 2011, while Taylor Lewan earned the honor in 2012 and 2013. Molk, who in 2011 received consensus All-America recognition, also earned Rimington Trophy honors as the nation's top center, while Lewan became the Maize and Blue's first two-time All-American since Jake Long in 2006-07 while also being named a semi-finalist for the Rotary-Lombardi award.

Funk's lines at Michigan have produced three 1,000-yard rushers, including Denard Robinson and Fitzgerald Toussaint in 2011, who became U-M's first pair of 1,000-yard rushers since 1975 (Gordon Bell and Rob Lytle). The Wolverines, who finished 11-2 and earned a Sugar Bowl victory that season, ranked second in the Big Ten in rushing offense (221.8 yards per game) and third in total offense (404.7 ypg), while ranking third in sacks allowed. In 2012, the line helped a Wolverines offense that averaged 383.1 yards and 29.8 points per game, including 183.8 rushing yards per game, while in 2013, it helped U-M average 373.5 yards and 32.2 points per game.

In 2010, Funk's line at San Diego State finished sixth in fewest sacks allowed, while Ball State ranked 10th in 2008. Funk helped the Aztecs finish the 2010 season ranked 12th nationally in passing offense, averaging just over 295 yards per game, and 16th in total offense (456.69 ypg). In his lone year at Ball State, he helped the Cardinals to a 12-2 record, the MAC West Division title and a trip to the GMAC Bowl in Mobile, Ala.

A Fort Collins, Colo., native and Colorado State alumnus, Funk spent five seasons with the Rams under head coach Sonny Lubick (2003-07), including the final four working with the offensive line. He coached CSU's special teams and tight ends his first season in 2003, after a one-year stint at Northern Illinois as tight ends coach. He also has made stops as a full-time assistant at Rhode Island (1998-2001), Mesa State College (1993-97) and Muskingum College (1990-92).

Funk was a three-year starter at CSU from 1983-86, playing on both the offensive and defensive line and at tight end. He has a bachelor's degree from Colorado State (1988) and a master's degree from Illinois (1990). Funk and his wife, Teresa, have two sons, Tyler and Dustin, and one daughter, Courtney.


Year Team Position
2011-present Michigan Offensive Line
2009-10 San Diego State Offensive Line
2008 Ball State Offensive Line
2004-07 Colorado State Offensive Line
2003 Colorado State Special Teams, Tight Ends
2002 Northern Illinois Tight Ends
2000-01 Rhode Island Def. Coordinator
1998-99 Rhode Island Offensive Line
1995-97 Mesa State College Off. Coordinator/OL
1993-94 Mesa State College Offensive Line
1991-92 Muskingum College Def. Coordinator/DL
1990 Muskingum College Defensive Line
1988-89 Illinois Graduate Assistant
1987 Colorado State Student Assistant

Age /
Date of Birth /
Feb. 4, 1965
Hometown /
Fort Collins, Colo.
High School /
Rocky Mountain
College /
Colorado State (1988)
Graduate School /
Illinois (1990)
Family /
Wife Teresa, sons Tyler and Dustin, daughter Courtney
College Bowl Experience (11) / Michigan:
2013 Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl, 2013 Outback Bowl, 2012 Sugar Bowl; San Diego State: 2010 Poinsiettia Bowl; Ball State: 2008 GMAC Bowl; Colorado State: 2005 Poinsiettia Bowl, 2003 San Francisco Bowl; Illinois: 1989 Citrus Bowl, 1988 All-American Bowl
/ 2013: Taylor Lewan; 2012: Taylor Lewan; 2011: David Molk (consensus)
All-Conference Players
/ 2013: Taylor Lewan (All-Big Ten first team, Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year);2012: Taylor Lewan (All-Big Ten first team, Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year), Patrick Omameh (All-Big Ten first team); 2011: David Molk (All-Big Ten first team, Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year), Taylor Lewan (All-Big Ten second team)

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.