Hutchinson Named to Orange Bowl All-Time Team

MIAMI, Fla. -- Former University of Michigan football star Steve Hutchinson (1997-2000) has been named to the FedEx Orange Bowl All-Time Team announced by the Orange Bowl committee as a part of its 75th anniversary celebration. Hutchinson, currently an All-Pro offensive guard for the Minnesota Vikings, was selected to the team through online fan voting at He and Penn State punter Jeremy Kapinos (2006) were the only Big Ten Conference players elected to the team.

Hutchinson played an instrumental role in the Wolverines' 35-34 overtime victory against Alabama in the 2000 Orange Bowl, paving the way for a three-yard touchdown run by Anthony Thomas and protecting Tom Brady during a four-touchdown passing effort. Brady completed 34-of-46 passes for a career-best and current Orange Bowl record 369 yards and four TDs. Michigan erased a pair of 14-point deficits to the Crimson Tide before claiming the victory in the first extra-session game played in school history.

A two-time captain, Hutchinson is one of the most decorated players in Michigan history. He is one of only two Wolverines to garner All-Big Ten Conference first team honors all four years of his career. Hutchinson earned All-America honors twice (1999-2000) and was a finalist for the 2000 Rotary Lombardi Award. He was a freshman starter on U-M's 1997 national championship team and was a member of three conference championship squads (1997, 1998, 2000). The Wolverines compiled a 41-8 record during his playing career and went 27-5 in Big Ten action.

A first-round NFL draft pick, Hutchinson has been selected to the Pro Bowl six straight seasons (2003-08) and has earned All-Pro honors five times (2003-07).

Desmond Howard to be honored during Orange Bowl Game: In addition, the Orange Bowl will be honoring past Heisman Trophy winners during tonight's FedEx BCS National Championship Game between Florida and Oklahoma. Desmond Howard, Michigan's 1991 Heisman Trophy winner and current ESPN college football analyst, will be one of the 10 former winners recognized during the game.

Orange Bowl Committee Unveils 75th Anniversary All-Time Team
Heisman Winners to be Honored at 2009 FedEx BCS National Championship Game

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about season ticket opportunities for the 2017 Michigan football season.