Michigan Signs 22 Student-Athletes to Letters of Intent
ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan head football coach Lloyd Carr and the Wolverine coaching staff announced today (Wednesday, Feb. 7) the signing of 22 student-athletes to National Letters of Intent for the upcoming 2001 football season.

The recruiting class includes five players selected to the USA Today High School All-America Team. Tailback Kelly Baraka (Portage, Mich./Portage Northern HS) and defensive backs Ernest Shazor (Detroit, Mich./Martin Luther King HS) and Marlin Jackson (Sharon, Pa./Sharon HS) were selected First Team All-Americans. Defensive lineman Patrick Massey (Brecksville, Ohio/Saint Ignatius HS) and Pierre Woods (Cleveland, Ohio/Glenville HS) received Second Team All-America honors.

This year's class includes nine student-athletes from the state of the Michigan, the most in-state recruits for Carr since becoming head coach in 1995. The Wolverines also added four players from Pennsylvania, three from Ohio and two from Wisconsin.

Defensive back Markus Curry (Detroit, Mich./Bishop Gallagher HS) and defensive lineman Dave Spytek (Pewaukee, Wis./Catholic Memorial HS) will suit up alongside their brothers, senior/junior strong safety Julius Curry and junior/sophomore outside linebacker John Spytek in the Wolverines' defensive unit. Markus Curry enrolled in school during the winter term and will participate in spring drills after attending Valley Forge Military Academy (Pa.) this past fall.

The Wolverines received a pair of players from three in-state programs: tailback Baraka and linebacker Joey Sarantos from Portage Northern High School; defensive lineman Alex Ofili and defensive back Jacob Stewart from Ypsilanti High School; defensive back Markus Curry and wide receiver Braylon Edwards from Bishop Gallagher High School. In addition to those six players, Michigan received binding letters of intent from defensive back Shazor and offensive linemen Leo Henige (Chesaning, Mich./Chesaning HS) and Matt Lentz (Ortonville, Mich./Brandon HS).

The only non-freshman in the group is quarterback Spencer Brinton (Hemet, Calif./Temecula Valley School), a transfer from San Diego State University who will be a junior with sophomore eligibility. Brinton has been on two-year Mormon mission trip in South Africa.

2001 Michigan Football Recruits (as of 3 p.m. EST, Feb. 7, 2001)

Name Pos.  Ht.    Wt.    Hometown/High School
Kelly Baraka RB 6-0 180 Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern)
  Coach Pete Schermerhorn
Spencer Brinton* QB 6-5 220 Hemet, Calif. (Temecula Valley School)
  Coach Bud Kane
Markus Curry DB 6-0 180 Detroit, Mich. (Bishop Gallagher)
  Coach George Sahadi
Kyle Ealey TE 6-7 240 Broadview, Ill. (Saint Joseph)
  Coach Rob Wagner
Braylon Edwards WR 6-3 192 Detroit, Mich. (Bishop Gallagher)
  Coach George Sahadi
Leo Henige OL 6-5 315 Chesaning, Mich. (Chesaning)
  Coach Jim Szappan
Marlin Jackson DB 6-1 180 Sharon, Pa. (Sharon)
  Coach Jim Wildman
Matt Lentz OL 6-6 305 Ortonville, Mich. (Brandon)
  Coach Jim Watkins
Tim Massaquoi WR 6-4 215 Breinigsville, Pa. (Parkland)
  Coach Richard Snisak
Patrick Massey DL 6-8 235 Brecksville, Ohio (Saint Ignatius)
  Coach Chuck Kyle
Scott McClintock LB 6-3 225 Belle Vernon, Pa. (Belle Vernon)
  Coach Gary Dongelli
Alex Ofili DL 6-4 230 Ypsilanti, Mich. (Ypsilanti)
  Coach Dan Brown
Lawrence Reid LB 6-1 215 Pickerington, Ohio (Pickerington)
  Coach Jack Johnson
Sean Sanderson FB 6-3 270 Knoxville, Tenn. (Farragut)
  Coach Eddie Courtney
Joey Sarantos LB 6-3 215 Portage, Mich. (Portage Northern)
  Coach Pete Schermerhorn
Ernest Shazor DB 6-4 210 Detroit, Mich. (King)
  Coach James Reynolds
Dan Simelis OL 6-6 295 Coraopolis, Pa. (Montour)
  Coach Tony Rippoe
Dave Spytek DL 6-7 242 Pewaukee, Wis. (Catholic Memorial)
  Coach Bill Young
Adam Stenavich OL 6-5 260 Marshfield, Wis. (Marshfield)
  Coach Len Luedtke
Jacob Stewart DB 5-11 196 Ypsilanti, Mich. (Ypsilanti)
  Coach Dan Brown
David Underwood   RB 6-0 220 Madisonville, Texas (Madisonville)
  Coach Greg Morgan
Pierre Woods DL 6-6 225 Cleveland, Ohio (Glenville)
  Coach Theodore Ginn

* transferred from San Diego State (junior/sophomore eligibility)

California (1): Spencer Brinton
Illinois (1): Kyle Ealey
Michigan (9): Kelly Baraka, Markus Curry, Braylon Edwards, Leo Henige, Matt Lentz, Alex Ofili, Joey Sarantos, Ernest Shazor, Jacob Stewart
Ohio (3): Patrick Massey, Lawrence Reid, Pierre Woods
Pennsylvania (4): Marlin Jackson, Tim Massaquoi, Scott McClintock, Dan Simelis
Tennessee (1): Sean Sanderson
Texas (1): David Underwood
Wisconsin (2): Dave Spytek, Adam Stenavich

Offensive Linemen (4): Leo Henige, Matt Lentz, Dan Simelis, Adam Stenavich
Receivers (3): Kyle Ealey (TE), Braylon Edwards (WR), Tim Massaquoi (WR)
Running Backs (3): Kelly Baraka, Sean Sanderson (FB), David Underwood
Quarterback (1): Spencer Brinton
Defensive Line (4): Patrick Massey, Alex Ofili, Dave Spytek, Pierre Woods
Linebacker (3): Scott McClintock, Lawrence Reid, Joey Sarantos
Defensive Backs (4): Markus Curry, Marlin Jackson, Ernest Shazor, Jacob Stewart

Contact: Dave Ablauf, Jim Schneider (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.