Jim Mandich Selected for College Football Hall of Fame

SOUTH BEND, Ind. -- Jim Mandich, a tight end for the University of Michigan football team from 1967 through 1969, will be inducted into the College Football Foundation Hall of Fame. Jon F. Hanson, Chairman of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, announced today (Tuesday, April 6) the inclusion of 14 individuals to the Hall of Fame Class of 2004.


"This honor is overwhelming to me. When I heard the news I was completely blown away," said Mandich. "At some point you think the train has left the station, and one of the things that makes it so deeply humbling are the people that are not on the list. To be included is very special to me."

Mandich, a tenacious blocker and talented pass-catcher, is the 25th U-M player to receive this honor through his football accomplishments at Michigan. He rewrote the Wolverine record book with his offensive prowess as a tight end. A unanimous first-team All-America and team captain in 1969, he was named the team's Most Valuable Player after leading the Wolverines to a Big Ten Conference co-championship and Rose Bowl appearance.

A two-time first-team all-conference pick, Mandich twice led Michigan in receptions and yardage. His 119 career receptions and 1,494 career yards continue to rank first all-time among U-M tight ends. Named to Michigan's Hall of Honor in 1994, Mandich played under two head coaches -- Bump Elliott and Bo Schembechler -- during his tenure at Michigan.

Mandich enrolled at Michigan after earning All-America honors during his prep career in Solon, Ohio. He was also an accomplished scholar during his collegiate career, receiving first-team Academic All-America and Academic All-Big Ten honors in 1969. After completing his Bachelor of Arts degree in economics in 1970, Mandich was selected in the second round of the NFL Draft and was a member of three Super Bowl championship teams, including the undefeated 1972 Dolphins.

Following his NFL career, he became a successful construction executive as well as radio talk show host for the Miami Dolphins, where he goes by the nickname "Mad Dog Mandich." Eager to help in the community, Mandich is active with the Don Shula Cure for Breast Cancer Drive and the Millie Schembechler Foundation.

The 2004 College Football Hall of Fame class will be inducted at the 47th annual awards dinner on Dec. 7, 2004, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend during ceremonies in August of 2005.

"Due to the dedicated efforts of our Honors Court and its chairman, Gene Corrigan, we have another outstanding class of college football legends to induct this December," said Hanson. "We are proud to be accepting these outstanding players and coaches into college football's ultimate shrine, the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Indiana."

Current U-M College Football Hall of Fame Members

Player Year Inducted
Albert Benbrook 1971
Anthony Carter 2001
Bob Chappuis 1988
Dan Dierdorf 1996
Chalmers "Bump" Elliott !        1989
Pete Elliott 1994
Benny Friedman 1951
Tom Harmon 1954
Willie Heston # 1954
Elroy Hirsch * 1974
Ron Johnson 1992
Harry Kipke 1958
Ron Kramer 1978
Johnny Maulbetsch ^ 1973
Harry Newman 1975
Bennie Oosterbaan 1954
Merv Pregulman 1982
Germany Schultz 1951
Neil Snow 1960
Ernie Vick 1983
Bob Westfall 1987
Albert Wistert 1968
Alvin Wistert % 1981
Francis Wistert 1967

!-also attended Purdue University
#-also attended San Jose State University
*-also attended the University of Wisconsin
^-also attended Adrian College
%-also attended Boston University

College Football Hall of Fame Site

Media Contacts: David Ablauf, Jim Schneider (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about season ticket opportunities for the 2017 Michigan football season.