Michigan in the Heisman Trophy Voting

The John W. Heisman Trophy has been given to college football's outstanding player each season since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York. The trophy, first known as the D.A.C. trophy was renamed in 1936 for Heisman, the first athletic director for the Downtown Athletic Club. Heisman played football at Penn and at Brown and later coached for 36 seasons, serving at nine different schools.

Three Michigan players (Tom Harmon-1940, Desmond Howard-1991 and Charles Woodson-1997) have won the award, and Wolverines have placed in the top 11 in the Heisman voting 24 times. Two Wolverines (Harmon-1939, and Bob Chappuis-1947) have finished second in the voting, three Wolverines (Rob Lytle-1976, Rick Leach-1978 and Jim Harbaugh-1986) have finished third, and three others (Bob Timberlake-1964, Anthony Carter-1982 and Chris Perry-2003) have placed fourth. Carter placed among the top 10 in his sophomore, junior and senior seasons, while Harmon, Ron Kramer (1955, 1956) and Leach (1977, 1978) placed in the top 10 twice during their Michigan careers.

Following is a year-by-year listing of Heisman Trophy winners, along with Michigan players who placed in the voting:

Year Winner, School, Position
1935 Jay Berwanger, Chicago, HB
1936 Larry Kelly, Yale, E
1937 Clint Frank, Yale, HB
1938 Davey O'Brien, Texas Christian, QB
1939 Nile Kinnick, Iowa, HB
U-M in Voting -- Tom Harmon (2nd)
1940 TOM HARMON, Michigan, HB
1941 Bruce Smith, Minnesota, HB
U-M in Voting -- Bob Westfall (8th)
1942 Frank Sinkwich, Georgia, HB
1943 Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame, QB
U-M in Voting -- Bill Daley (7th)
1944 Les Horvath, Ohio State, QB
1945 Doc Blanchard*, Army, FB
1946 Glenn Davis, Army, HB
1947 John Lujack, Notre Dame, QB
U-M in Voting -- Bob Chappuis (2nd)
1948 Doak Walker*, Southern Methodist, HB
1949 Leon Hart, Notre Dame, E
1950 Vic Janowicz*, Ohio State, HB
1951 Dick Kazmaier, Princeton, HB
1952 Billy Vessels, Oklahoma, HB
1953 John Lattner, Notre Dame, HB
1954 Alan Ameche, Wisconsin, FB
1955 Hopalong Cassady, Ohio State, HB
U-M in Voting -- Ron Kramer (8th)
1956 Paul Hornung, Notre Dame, QB
U-M in Voting -- Ron Kramer (6th)
1957 John David Crow, Texas A&M, HB
1958 Pete Dawkins, Army, HB
1959 Bill Cannon, Louisiana State, HB
1960 Joe Bellino, Navy, HB
1961 Ernie Davis, Syracuse, HB
1962 Terry Baker, Oregon State, QB
1963 Roger Staubach*, Navy, QB
1964 John Huarte, Notre Dame, QB
U-M in Voting -- Bob Timberlake (4th)
1965 Mike Garrett, Southern California, RB
1966 Steve Spurrier, Florida, QB
1967 Gary Beban, UCLA, QB
1968 O.J. Simpson, Southern California, RB
U-M in Voting -- Ron Johnson (6th)
1969 Steve Owens, Oklahoma, RB
1970 Jim Plunkett, Stanford, QB
1971 Pat Sullivan, Auburn, QB
1972 Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska, FL
1973 John Cappelletti, Penn State, RB
1974 Archie Griffin*, Ohio State, RB
U-M in Voting -- Dennis Franklin (8th)
1975 Archie Griffin, Ohio State, RB
U-M in Voting -- Gordon Bell (8th)
1976 Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh, RB
U-M in Voting -- Rob Lytle (3rd)
Year Winner, School, Position
1977 Earl Campbell, Texas, RB
U-M in Voting -- Rick Leach (8th)
1978 Billy Sims*, Oklahoma, RB
U-M in Voting -- Rick Leach (3rd)
1979 Charles White, Southern California, RB
1980 George Rogers, South Carolina, RB
U-M in Voting -- Anthony Carter (10th)
1981 Marcus Allen, Southern California, RB
U-M in Voting -- Anthony Carter (7th)
1982 Herschel Walker*, Georgia, RB
U-M in Voting -- Anthony Carter (4th)
1983 Mike Rozier, Nebraska, RB
1984 Doug Flutie, Boston College, QB
1985 Bo Jackson, Auburn, RB
1986 Vinny Testaverde, Miami (Fla.), QB
U-M in Voting -- Jim Harbaugh (3rd)
1987 Tim Brown, Notre Dame, WR
1988 Barry Sanders*, Oklahoma State, RB
1989 Andre Ware*, Houston, QB
1990 Ty Detmer*, Brigham Young, QB
1991 DESMOND HOWARD, Michigan, WR
1992 Gino Torretta, Miami (Fla.), QB
1993 Charlie Ward, Florida State, QB
U-M in Voting -- Tyrone Wheatley (8th)
1994 Rashaan Salaam*, Colorado, RB
U-M in Voting -- Tyrone Wheatley (12th)
1995 Eddie George, Ohio State, RB
U-M in Voting -- Tshimanga Biakabutuka (8th)
1996 Danny Wuerffel, Florida, QB
1997 CHARLES WOODSON*, Michigan, CB/WR
1998 Ricky Williams, Texas, RB
1999 Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, RB
2000 Chris Weinke, Florida State, QB
2001 Eric Crouch, Nebraska, QB
2002 Carson Palmer, Southern California, QB
2003 Jason White*, Oklahoma, QB
U-M in Voting -- Chris Perry (4th)
2004 Matt Leinart*, Southern California, QB
U-M in Voting -- Braylon Edwards (10th)
2005 Reggie Bush*, Southern California, RB
2006 Troy Smith, Ohio State, QB
U-M in Voting -- Mike Hart (5th)
2007 Tim Tebow*, Florida, QB
2008 Sam Bradford*, Oklahoma, QB
2009 Mark Ingram*, Alabama, RB
2010 Cam Newton*, Auburn, QB
U-M in Voting -- Denard Robinson (6th)
2011 Robert Griffin III*, Baylor, QB
2012 Johnny Manziel*, Texas A&M, QB
2013 Jameis Winston*, Florida State, QB
2014 Marcus Mariota*, Oregon, QB
2015 Derrick Henry*, Alabama, RB
2016 Lamar Jackson*, Louisville, QB
U-M in Voting -- Jabrill Peppers (5th)

* indicates non-senior winner

Heisman Trophy Site

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.