Schilling Named to Watch List for Outland Trophy

June 24, 2010

DALLAS, Texas -- The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced that University of Michigan fifth-year senior offensive guard Stephen Schilling (Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue HS) is one of 63 players on the watch list for the 2010 Outland Trophy, presented annually to the nation's outstanding lineman. This is the first time that Schilling has appeared on the prestigious award list.

Schilling enters the 2010 season as the Wolverines' most veteran player. A three-year starter along the offensive line, Schilling started his first two seasons at right tackle before moving to the starting left guard position in 2009. He has started 36 of a possible 37 career games and is a two-time recipient of the Hugh R. Rader Award as the team's top offensive lineman. Schilling earned 2009 All-Big Ten honorable mention after switching positions on the line.

He is one of nine Big Ten Conference linemen on the award's 2010 watch list.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third-oldest trophy in major college football. The 2010 winner will be announced on the ESPNU College Football Award Show on Dec. 9.

Michigan has never had a player win the Outland Trophy. The Wolverines have had four finalists for the award: John "Jumbo" Elliott (1987), Greg Skrepenak (1991), David Baas (2004) and Jake Long (2007).

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423

Follow Michigan football on twitter (Michigan_fball) and facebook.

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.