Clark, Ryan on Watch List for Bednarik Award
Frank Clark (L) and Jake Ryan

July 7, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan defensive end Frank Clark (Cleveland, Ohio/Glenville) and linebacker Jake Ryan (Westlake, Ohio/St. Ignatius) were included on the 2014 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List released Monday (July 7). The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Clark was a second team All-Big Ten selection last season. He started all 13 games of his junior campaign and recorded 43 tackles, including 12.0 for loss with 4.5 sacks, and two fumble recoveries. His tackles for loss total ranked 11th in the Big Ten, and his sacks total tied for 16th in the conference. He registered a single-game career-high nine tackles at Michigan State and tied his career high with 2.5 tackles-for-loss at Iowa. In his career, Clark has accumulated 78 tackles, including 21.5 for loss with 6.5 sacks, three fumble recoveries, one forced fumble, one interception and seven pass breakups.

Ryan served as a team captain last season and registered 30 tackles, including 4.5 for loss, over the final eight games after recovering from an injury that occurred during spring practice. In 2012, he was a second team All-Big Ten performer when he led the team with 88 tackles, including 16.0 for loss with 4.5 sacks, and tied the Michigan single-season record with four forced fumbles. In his career, Ryan has registered 155 tackles, including 31.5 for loss with 7.5 sacks, five forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and four pass breakups. He has recorded at least one tackle-for-loss in 25 of his last 30 games.

Clark and Ryan are two of 10 from the Big Ten on the watch list, and Michigan is one of three schools in the conference with multiple representatives on the watch list.

Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 3, with the three finalists unveiled Nov. 24. The winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 11.

Media Contacts: Derek Satterfield, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.