Four Wolverines Named to Preseason Watch Lists

July 8, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- A quartet of University of Michigan football players have been named to preseason watch lists for various national awards. Junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) is up for the Maxwell Award, senior defensive tackle Mike Martin (Redford, Mich./Catholic Central) is a candidate for the Bednarik Award, senior/junior wide receiver Roy Roundtree (Trotwood, Ohio/Trotwood-Madison) is on the preseason list for the Biletnikoff Award, and senior tight end Kevin Koger (Toledo, Ohio/Whitmer) is a candidate for the Mackey Award.

Robinson is one of 66 players on the watch list for the 75th annual Maxwell Award, presented to the outstanding player in college football. Nine other players from Big Ten Conference programs were picked for the 2011 list. Including Robinson, there are eight players on the watch list who were semifinalists for the 2010 Maxwell Award. He was the 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year as determined by the coaches and media.

In addition to Martin, 64 players are on the preseason watch list for the 17th annual Bednarik Award, which recognizes the nation's outstanding defensive player. He is one of seven Big Ten players named to the list. Martin earned 2010 All-Big Ten distinction -- second team by the coaches and honorable mention by the media.

Roundtree is among the 75 candidates for the 18th annual Biletnikoff Award, given each season to the nation's outstanding receiver. There are six other Big Ten receivers on the initial list. Roundtree received 2010 All-Big Ten second team honors from the media and is Michigan's active leader in career receiving yards and receptions.

Koger is one of 34 players on the watch list for the 12th annual Mackey Award, which honors the most outstanding tight end. Counting Koger, seven Big Ten players are on the watch list. Koger had 14 catches for 199 yards and two touchdowns in 2010.

The Maxwell, Bednarik, Biletnikoff and Mackey Awards are part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). Of the 21 NCFAA awards, 15 choose a preseason watch list. These lists are being released over a 13-day span from July 5-18.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 31. For the Mackey Award, a midseason watch list will come on Oct. 17 and semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 14. Finalists for the Maxwell, Bednarik and Mackey Awards will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winners of the awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8.

Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.