Gardner, Lewan Earn Spots on Maxwell Award Watch List
Devin Gardner (L) and Taylor Lewan

July 8, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan senior/junior quarterback Devin Gardner (Detroit, Mich./Inkster) and fifth-year senior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) have been named as two of 76 players on the 2013 watch list for the 77th annual Maxwell Award, presented to the most outstanding college football player.

Gardner appeared in 13 games in 2012, beginning the season as a wide receiver before starting the final five games at quarterback. He completed 75-of-126 passes for 1,219 yards and 11 touchdowns with five interceptions, while rushing 47 times for 101 yards and seven touchdowns. He also caught 16 passes for 266 yards and four touchdowns.

Gardner accounted for at least two touchdowns in each of his five starts at quarterback last season and earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors twice.

Lewan was a 2012 All-America first team choice by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, Associated Press, and He also was named the Big Ten Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year and was an All-Big Ten first team choice by the league's coaches and media during his junior campaign.

A three-year starter, Lewan has opened 35 career games at left tackle, including 28 consecutive.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be named Oct. 29, and three finalists will be announced on Nov. 18. The winner will be named on Dec. 5 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list.

Following is the complete 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday, July 8: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
Tuesday, July 9: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy
Wednesday, July 10: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thursday, July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Friday, July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Monday, July 15: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
Tuesday, July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wednesday, July 17: Davey O'Brien Award
Thursday, July 18: Doak Walker Award
Friday, July 19: Walter Camp Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.