Gibbons Makes Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Watch List
Brendan Gibbons

July 10, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football fifth-year senior kicker Brendan Gibbons (West Palm Beach, Fla./Cardinal Newman) has been named as one of 30 players to the 2013 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award preseason watch list, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced today (Wednesday, July 10).

Three other Big Ten kickers were named to the watch list.

Gibbons hit 16-of-18 field-goal attempts (88.9 percent) and 45-of-45 point-after attempts in 2012, while he has connected on 30-of-40 field goals and 112-of-114 PATs for his career. He converted his final 13 field goal attempts last season, ranking as the second-longest streak in U-M history behind Remy Hamilton's 14 straight in 1996. Gibbons ranks sixth in U-M history in field goals made, and his streak of 97 consecutive successful PATs ranks second best behind J.D. Carlson's 126 consecutive.

Last season, Gibbons hit a career-long 52-yard field goal at Nebraska, the sixth longest field goal in U-M history. He also was named Big Ten Special Teams Player of the Week for his three-field goal performance against Michigan State, which included a 38-yard game-winner with five seconds remaining.

Semifinalists for the 22nd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will be released Nov. 4, and three finalists will be named on Nov. 25. The winner will be named on Dec. 12 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla.

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July.

Following is the remaining 2013 preseason watch list calendar:

Thursday, July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
Friday, July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Monday, July 15: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
Tuesday, July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wednesday, July 17: Davey O'Brien Award
Thursday, July 18: Doak Walker Award
Friday, July 19: Walter Camp Award

Funchess Listed on John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List
Gardner, Lewan Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.