Gibbons on Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Watch List
Brendan Gibbons

July 11, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior/junior place-kicker Brendan Gibbons (West Palm Beach, Fla./Cardinal Newman) has been named as one of 30 players to the 2012 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award watch list.

Six other Big Ten kickers were named to the watch list.

Gibbons hit 13 of 17 field-goal attempts (76.5 percent) and 54 of 55 point-after attempts (98.2 percent) in 2011. He converted all three field-goal attempts, including a 37-yard game-winner, in the Wolverines' 23-20 overtime victory against Virginia Tech in the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Gibbons also hit a career-long 43-yard field goal with 1:59 remaining against Ohio State to give U-M its final points in the team's 40-34 victory.

Semifinalists for the 21st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will be released Nov. 5, and three finalists will be named on Nov. 19. The winner will be named on Dec. 6 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla.

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July.

Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list. Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

• Monday, July 9: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
• Tuesday, July 10: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy
• Wednesday, July 11: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
• Thursday, July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
• Friday, July 13: Jim Thorpe Award
• Monday, July 16: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
• Tuesday, July 17: Biletnikoff Award
• Wednesday, July 18: Davey O'Brien Award
• Thursday, July 19: Doak Walker Award
• Friday, July 20: Walter Camp Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.