Kovacs, Lewan Selected to 2012 Award Watch Lists
Taylor Lewan (L) and Jordan Kovacs

July 12, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) and senior/junior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) each have been named to 2012 awards watch lists today (Thursday, July 12).

Kovacs is one of 84 players on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list, awarded to the nation's best defensive player, while Lewan is one of 71 players named to the Outland Trophy watch list, awarded to the best interior lineman in college football. Each award is voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

In 2011, Kovacs started 12 games and had 75 tackles -- eight for losses -- four sacks, one interception, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovery for a Wolverines squad that finished with an 11-2 record and defeated Virginia Tech, 23-20, in overtime, in the Allstate Sugar Bowl. He has totaled 266 tackles -- 21 for losses -- five sacks, four interceptions, two forced fumbles and three pass breakups in his career.

Lewan has started 22 career games at left tackle, including all 13 in 2011. He earned All-Big Ten second team honors by the conference's coaches last season. He also was named to Phil Steele's 2012 preseason All-Big Ten first team and All-America third team. Lewan was part of a Wolverines offensive line in 2011 that allowed just 18 sacks, third best in the Big Ten. The line also helped the Wolverines rush for 221.8 yards per game, second in the Big Ten and 13th in the nation, and produce two 1,000-yard rushers (Denard Robinson, 1,176; Fitzgerald Toussaint, 1,041).

The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15, and the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team, and the winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list.

Following is the complete 2012 preseason watch list calendar:

• Monday, July 9: Maxwell Award/Bednarik Award
• Tuesday, July 10: Mackey Award/Rimington Trophy
• Wednesday, July 11: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
• Thursday, July 12: Bronko Nagurski Trophy/Outland Trophy
• Friday, July 13: Jim Thorpe Award
• Monday, July 16: Butkus Award/Rotary Lombardi Award
• Tuesday, July 17: Biletnikoff Award
• Wednesday, July 18: Davey O'Brien Award
• Thursday, July 19: Doak Walker Award
• Friday, July 20: Walter Camp Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.