Robinson Named to Davey O'Brien Award Preseason Watch List
Denard Robinson

July 18, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) has been named as one of 34 players to the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award preseason watch list, the award's selection committee announced today (Wednesday, July 18).

Robinson is one of five Big Ten Conference quarterbacks and one of seven semifinalists for the 2011 award selected to the list. He also was named to the Maxwell Award watch list on July 9.

Robinson has started 27 of 38 career games in three seasons at Michigan. He has completed 338 of 580 passes for 4,931 yards and 40 touchdowns and rushed 546 times for 3,229 yards and 35 touchdowns. He ranks in the top 10 in U-M history in passing completions, attempts, yards and touchdowns and in rushing yards, touchdowns and 100-yard games (14).

Sixteen semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award will be named on Oct. 22, and three finalists will be named on Nov. 19. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

The Davey O'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list. The Doak Walker Award watch list will be announced on Thursday (July 19), while the Walter Camp Award watch list will conclude the association's watch list announcements on Friday (July 20).

Seven Wolverines have been selected to the 2012 preseason watch lists:

Kenny Demens: Rotary Lombardi Award
Brendan Gibbons: Lou Groza Award
Jordan Kovacs: Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Taylor Lewan: Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Roy Roundtree: Biletnikoff Award
Denard Robinson: Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award
Fitzgerald Toussaint: Maxwell Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.