Toussaint Selected for Doak Walker Award Preseason Watch List
Fitzgerald Toussaint

July 19, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior/junior running back Fitzgerald Toussaint (Youngstown, Ohio/Liberty) is one of 52 running backs named to the 2012 Doak Walker Award preseason watch list, the award's selection committee announced today (Thursday, July 19).

Toussaint is one of seven Big Ten Conference running backs chosen for the watch list.

Toussaint has started 12 of 16 games in two seasons at U-M, totaling 195 rushes for 1,128 yards and 10 touchdowns. He started 11 of 12 games in 2011, rushing 187 times for 1,041 yards and nine touchdowns, including five 100-plus-yard games. Last season, Toussaint and quarterback Denard Robinson (1,176 yards) were the only teammates in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) to surpass 1,000 rushing yards, and they became U-M's first pair of 1,000-yard rushers since 1975 (Gordon Bell, 1,388; Rob Lytle, 1,030).

Over the last six games of 2011, Toussaint had 125 carries for 708 yards and five touchdowns. He surpassed 100 rushing yards in four of those games, including a career-best 192 yards at Illinois Nov. 12.

Semifinalists for the 23rd annual Doak Walker Award will be named on Nov. 9, and three finalists will be named on Nov. 19. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list. The Walter Camp Award watch list will conclude the association's watch list announcements on Friday (July 20).

Seven Wolverines have been selected to the 2012 preseason watch lists:

Kenny Demens: Rotary Lombardi Award
Brendan Gibbons: Lou Groza Award
Jordan Kovacs: Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Taylor Lewan: Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Roy Roundtree: Biletnikoff Award
Denard Robinson: Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award
Fitzgerald Toussaint: Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.