Lewan on Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List
Taylor Lewan

July 19, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football fifth-year senior left tackle Taylor Lewan (Cave Creek, Ariz./Chaparral HS) was named today (Friday, July 19) as one of 50 players across the country to the 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list.

Lewan, a 2012 All-America first team choice by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, is one of 12 players on the list to have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors and one of six to have earned first team recognition.

Lewan, one of six Big Ten players named to the list, also was a 2012 All-America first team choice by the Associated Press, ESPN.com and SI.com. The Big Ten Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year, Lewan was an All-Big Ten first team choice by the league's coaches and media during his junior campaign.

A three-year starter, Lewan has opened 35 career games at left tackle, including 28 consecutive.

Lewan this preseason also has been named to the watch lists for the Maxwell Award, Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN Sports Center on Thursday, Dec. 12. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Jan. 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, Conn.

The Walter Camp is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list.

Six Wolverines have been selected to the 2013 preseason watch lists:

Gardner Named to Davey O'Brien Award Preseason Watch List
Gallon Selected to Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
Lewan, Ryan Land on Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List
Lewan Selected to Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List
Gibbons Makes Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Watch List
Funchess Listed on John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List
Gardner, Lewan Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.