Robinson on Walter Camp Player of the Year Award Watch List
Denard Robinson

July 20, 2012

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) is one of 50 players named to the 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award preseason watch list, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced today (Friday, July 20).

Robinson is one of five Big Ten Conference players selected to the list. It marks the third watch list for Robinson, who also was named to the Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien Award preseason lists.

Robinson has started 27 of 38 career games in three seasons at Michigan. He has completed 338 of 580 passes for 4,931 yards and 40 touchdowns and rushed 546 times for 3,229 yards and 35 touchdowns. He ranks in the top 10 in U-M history in passing completions, attempts, yards and touchdowns and in rushing yards, touchdowns and 100-yard games (14).

Ten semifinalists for the award will be named in mid-November, and the winner will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 6.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA and its members unveiled their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period in July. Fifteen of the association's 21 awards select a preseason watch list.

Seven Wolverines have been selected to the 2012 preseason watch lists:

Kenny Demens: Rotary Lombardi Award
Brendan Gibbons: Lou Groza Award
Jordan Kovacs: Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Taylor Lewan: Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award
Roy Roundtree: Biletnikoff Award
Denard Robinson: Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award, Walter Camp Player of the Year Award
Fitzgerald Toussaint: Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.