Adams on Preseason Watch List for Thorpe Award

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Senior safety Jamar Adams (Charlotte, N.C./Butler HS) of the University of Michigan football team is one of 35 preseason candidates on the watch list for the 2007 Jim Thorpe Award announced Wednesday (July 25). The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nations best college defensive back.


Adams is of three Big Ten Conference players on the prestigious Thorpe Award list. Ohio State's Malcolm Jenkins and Penn State's Justin King, a pair of cornerbacks, are the only other nominees from the league.

A three-year letterman, Adams was an All-Big Ten second team selection by the coaches in 2006. He has played in 34 career games and made 21 starting assignments at safety. Adams needs 20 stops for 100 in his career, having contributed 80 stops, four tackles for loss, one sack, one interception and nine pass breakups.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists the first Monday in November, with the list paired to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving. The winner of the 2007 Thorpe Award will be announced on ESPNs College Football Awards Show, nationally telecast on Dec. 6. The official award presentation will be in Oklahoma City on Feb. 12.

The watch list is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines. Four points are awarded for first team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for fourth teams and honorable mentions. This list is not final and players who have good seasons are added as the season progresses.

A screening committee follows these players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The committee meets on the first Monday in November to narrow the field to 10 or 12 semifinalists.

Following is an alphabetical listing of the pre-season Thorpe Award candidates:
Jamar Adams, Sr., Michigan
Josh Barrett, Sr., Arizona State
Zackary Bowman, Sr., Nebraska
Tony Carter, Jr., Florida State
Antoine Cason, Sr., Arizona
Simeon Castille, Sr., Alabama
Quintin Demps, Sr., UTEP
Brandon Flowers, Jr., Virginia Tech
Courtney Greene, Jr., Rutgers
Michael Hamlin, Jr., Clemson
Nic Harris, Jr., Oklahoma
Victor Harris, Jr., Virginia Tech
Jonathan Hefney, Sr., Tennessee
Chris Horton, Sr., UCLA
Malcolm Jenkins, Jr., Ohio State
Tyrell Johnson, Sr., Arkansas State
Dennis Keyes, Sr., UCLA
Justin King, Jr., Penn State
Jamal Lewis, Sr., Georgia Tech
Dwight Lowery, Sr., San Jose State
Taylor Mays, So., USC
Mike Mickens, Jr., Cincinnati
Paul Oliver, Sr., Georgia
Derek Pegues, Jr., Mississippi State
Kenny Phillips, Jr., Miami (Fla.)
Myron Rolle, So., Florida State
Reggie Smith, Jr., Oklahoma
Marty Tadman, Sr., Boise State
Aqib Talib, Jr., Kansas
Terrell Thomas, Sr., USC
DeJuan Tribble, Sr., Boston College
Eric Wicks, Sr., West Virginia
Terrence Wheatley, Sr., Colorado
Trae Williams, Sr., South Florida
Tom Zbikowski, Sr., Notre Dame

Media Contact: David Ablauf, Jim Schneider (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about season ticket opportunities for the 2017 Michigan football season.