Lewan, Robinson Selected as Big Ten Players to Watch for 2012
Denard Robinson (left), Taylor Lewan

July 26, 2012

B1G Media Day Timeline Video icon
Taylor Lewan Video icon | Denard Robinson Video icon | Jordan Kovacs Video icon

CHICAGO, Ill. -- University of Michigan football senior/junior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) and senior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) are among 10 players that have been selected to the Big Ten Players to Watch list, the conference announced today (Thursday, July 26).

The preseason Big Ten Players to Watch list is selected by a media panel and consists of five student-athletes from the Legends Division and Leaders Division.

Lewan, who also was named to the 2012 national watch lists for the Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award, has started 22 career games at left tackle, including all 13 in 2011. He earned All-Big Ten second team honors by the conference's coaches last season. Lewan was named to Phil Steele's 2012 preseason All-Big Ten first team and All-America third team. He was part of a Wolverines offensive line in 2011 that allowed just 18 sacks, third best in the Big Ten. The line also helped the Wolverines rush for 221.8 yards per game, second in the Big Ten and 13th in the nation, and produce two 1,000-yard rushers (Robinson, 1,176; Fitzgerald Toussaint, 1,041).

Robinson, an All-Big Ten second team selection by the league's coaches in 2011, led the conference in total offense for a second consecutive season, averaging 257.6 total yards per game last season. The dual-threat quarterback completed 142 of 258 passes for 2,173 yards and 20 touchdowns and rushed for 1,176 yards and 16 touchdowns on 221 carries. Robinson, who has started 27 of 38 career games in three seasons at Michigan, ranks sixth in program history in career touchdown passes (40), fifth in rushing touchdowns (35), seventh in passing yards (4,931) and eighth in rushing yards (3,229). He has been selected to the 2012 preseason watch lists for the Maxwell, Davey O'Brien and Walter Camp Player of the Year Awards.

The complete Big Ten football preseason Players to Watch list appears below:

Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan
Denard Robinson, QB, Michigan

Johnny Adams, CB, Michigan State
William Gholston, DE, Michigan State
Rex Burkhead, RB, Nebraska

John Simon, DL, Ohio State
Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State
Kawann Short, DT, Purdue
Montee Ball, RB, Wisconsin
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.