Robinson the Lone Quarterback on Paul Hornung Award Watch List
Denard Robinson

Aug. 8, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) of the University of Michigan football team was one of 50 student-athletes named Monday (Aug. 8) to the 2011 watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse.

Robinson is one of three Big Ten Conference players and the lone quarterback to make the watch list for the award, given to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend Paul Hornung.

Beginning in late September, college football fans will factor into the selection of the finalists and winner by voting for their favorite player on Facebook during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Three to five finalists will be named on Dec. 9 at, and the winner will be selected following the bowl season in early January.

Robinson, the 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, earlier this summer was named to watch lists for the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, and Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

U-M will begin preparation for its 132nd season of football on Monday with its first practice of camp. The Wolverines will open the season on Sept. 3 by hosting Western Michigan at 3:30 p.m. at Michigan Stadium. The game will be televised live on ABC.

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.